Why We Find Online Clothes Shopping So Hard To Get Right

And how we can make it easy.

Jessica A
5 min readJun 3, 2020
Neutral clothes and accessories flat-lay. Photo by S O C I A L . C U T on Unsplash.

As a natural hermit crab and all-around sleepy being, I’ve shopped for clothes online for years. Why traipse all the way into town, face the world’s most unflattering lights in changing rooms and then have to talk to other humans to make a purchase? Nope, not for me.

But it wasn’t always smooth sailing or even fairly competent kayaking; in fact, there was a point I was returning 90 per cent of what I’d ordered because I kept getting it wrong. That’s a lot of printing out return labels and visits to the post office.

Over time, by making all the mistakes humanly possible, I’ve finally learnt that I need to follow 5 rules if I want to simplify my online clothes shopping experience and end up with pieces I completely love.

There is no way around this; trust me, I’ve tried. Here are the 5 main things that might be going awry with your online shopping and how to solve them.

1. We’re on autopilot

Many of us browse aimlessly for clothes online. We end up either buying something we never actually needed, or we buy something we do need but we don’t get the purchase quite right. It’s important to remember that splashing on something new won’t necessarily enhance your…

--

--

Jessica A

Pen for hire | snack aficionado | recovering night owl. Come say hi at the other places I hang out https://linktr.ee/sowingwildnotes