THIS MOMPRENEUR IS SLAYING IT ONE MILESTONE AT A TIME!

Jewelrylover
3 min readApr 3, 2018

Juggling between things is an art, and to be able to master it all equally is quite a task. But there’s someone who knows how to ace it all. A mom! Oh, how we wish we could do even half the things they do. From dealing with the kids, getting the chores done and making sure that everything is in its place (which takes more work than we can imagine), they make it all look so effortless!

We especially want to mention the working moms, here. No amount of words can express the superpowers you’re born with!

For our next conversation with a successful business owner, we want to bring to you Jenny Buckingham from The Rustic Elegance Co, who is a stay-at-home mom and she’s as good an entrepreneur as she is a mom (let’s just call her a mompreneur). Talk about multitasking! Read on.

CONGRATULATIONS ON HAVING SUCH A COOL SHOP! PLEASE TELL US WHAT IT IS ABOUT AND HOW YOU GOT THE WHOLE IDEA.

Hello friends! The Rustic Elegance Co. is an online Etsy store specializing in personalized décor and gifts for special occasions. With Adobe Photoshop, I design prints, stationery, and signs to capture the beauty of the rustic chic. I launched my shop in the summer of 2016 with a goal to bring unique and handmade products to the e-commerce market. My inspiration to be an Etsy store owner came from my desire to be a stay at home mom and have a side income. My shop has come a long way in the past year. When I first opened, I received one sale every day. Fast forward to today, and I receive one sale every hour! With many mistakes and learning experiences along the way, The Rustic Elegance Co. has become an established and busy Etsy shop.

HOW HAVE YOUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS SUPPORTED YOU IN YOUR JOURNEY?

My husband, family, and friends are huge supporters in my journey. I could not do it without them. My husband has been my personal financial and business adviser. My mom was my very first customer. I am forever thankful for my supporters.

IS THERE SOMETHING THAT PUSHES YOU TO WORK HARD EVERYDAY? TELL US ABOUT WHAT MOTIVATES YOU.

I find my motivation in being rewarded for my efforts. When I am rewarded for my work, I am motivated to push it even harder. It’s when I hear a ‘cha-ching’, that I feel a wave of thrill going through me that inspires my heart beyond my own imaginations. On the days when I am discouraged and feel like I am a failure, I quote to myself one of my favorite quotes, “Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.” — Thomas Edison. Yes, that’s exactly what I do…I try one more time.

WHAT ARE SOME OF THE THINGS YOU WISH YOUR CUSTOMERS KNEW ABOUT YOUR SHOP? IS THERE ANYTHING YOU’VE ALWAYS WANTED PEOPLE TO KNOW?

I wish my customers knew my heart was not in the money I make or the number of sales I get. I wish they knew I find my biggest joy in giving them a good experience and providing them with an amazing product.

.

.

.

.

.

Read the rest of this amazing mom’s journey here —

https://blog.gemmartusa.com/mompreneur-slaying-it/

--

--