While You Wait

Dzifa Mensah
2 min readDec 20, 2018

--

I am at that point in my life where I am waiting for things out of my control to happen.

I am waiting for the stars to align.

I am waiting for the little sparks of magic to show forth as several things fall apart around me.

I am waiting for answers.

I am waiting for help.

Just in case you find yourself in the waiting period, you’re in the right company.

Firstly, it won’t break you.

Secondly, you will be fine.

Lastly, you are more powerful than you think you are.

While you wait, say a prayer.

While you wait, it’s okay to cry.

While you wait, check the condition of your heart.

While you wait, be strong.

I know it is painful.

I know it feels like your prayers are hitting the ceiling and falling back on you.

I understand you are tired.

I know you feel like throwing in the towel.

But don’t.

Hold on.

Allow the pain to linger.

Allow the uncertainty to lurk around.

Try again tomorrow.

Do the little things.

Even if it means getting out of bed every day.

Light will come.

Clarity will come.

It will all make sense soon.

Actually, maybe it won’t make any sense.

But you will be tougher.

You will be more refined.

You will be resilient.

You will be better.

Your perspective to life will change.

You will be more empathetic.

You will be more loving.

You will be more patient.

You will be more courageous.

You will be a badass.

For now, I plead that you wait with a good heart.

Be mindful of your attitude while in transit.

Don’t yield to temptations.

Don’t settle for ‘almost’ perfect.

Don’t choose the easier route.

You’re made of gold.

Pure undiluted 24 carat gold.

Appreciate the fire.

It will mould you into the gold that you are.

Appreciate the process.

It will lead to the release of your upgraded version — 2.0 or even 4.0.

Endure.

Keep waiting.

You will be glad you did.

Originally published at Dzifa Mensah.

--

--