Liza & Joanna discuss being Mozilla Web Literacy Leaders, part 2

Joanna Milner
4 min readMar 8, 2018

--

Read part 1 first.

Joanna: Was there anything that surprised you about this experience?

Liza: Hmm… that’s a really good question. One thing that surprised me was that all of the WLLs were involved in web literacy at different levels in their own organizations. Some seemed to do this work as part of their day-to-day but not in an especially focused way (like me; it’s not a big part of what I do in my regular job) and others were super focused on web literacy. I wasn’t sure what to expect other than that I would probably know the least! I was pleasantly surprised to get to know the other WLLs and find that we all had amazing experiences and skills to bring forward. This really came out during our in-person sessions in Chicago.

Same question to you! What surprised you?

Joanna: I was surprised that I had something to bring to the table. Like you said, the WLLs had so much experience with web literacy and I was worried I was in over my head. But as someone who spends most of my day helping patrons, I had a unique perspective. I think you and I both found we had a lot to offer.

Plus, we both really enjoy learning new things. :-)

Our motto.

Liza: That is so true!

Now that the WLL program has finished and we’re nearing the end of our project, what do you think we’ll take into the future?

Joanna: Well, you and I are going to be presenting at the Oregon Library Association conference in April! I’m hoping we can introduce other libraries to the Mozilla curricula and get people brainstorming about how to bring Web Literacy to their patrons and colleagues.

I’d also like to keep nudging our library system to integrate web literacy concepts into all of our trainings for staff. We can’t help our patrons if we don’t feel literate and empowered.

Same question: What do you think we’ll take into the future?

Liza: One of the things I was excited to hear at a recent session with our cohort is that a few of our people are already getting involved in projects at the library beyond what we’re able to do in our finite time. It’s what we’d hoped for when we applied to be Mozilla WLLs and I’m so proud that we were able to give staff the time and resources to dive into web literacy and that they want to keep doing this work. I’m not usually someone to pat myself on the back, but I’ll make an exception this time. =)

On a personal note, I learned so much about what the library is doing when it comes to digital inclusion, like that Multnomah County Library is part of the Digital Inclusion Network and contributes to the Digital Equity Action Plan. (Check out the progress report for what’s been accomplished in the first year.) I’m excited and hopeful for what we can do collectively moving forward, combining big picture thinking and practical training and support for staff and patrons.

Joanna: Me, too!

As a shoutout to our wonderful WLL colleagues, and because we’re not above occasional pandering, we decided to end this with pictures of our cats. You’re welcome.

Left: Liza’s cat Sebastian likes technology, but mostly for sitting on. (Note the National Digital Inclusion Alliance (NDIA), Mozilla, and Nonprofit Technology Network (NTEN) stickers.) Right: Liza’s cat Moon Pie tries her paw at some coding.
Left: Joanna’s cat Tib tries her hand at remixing. Right: Joanna’s cat Tacy offers to help punch up some curricula.
Much love and remembrance to Joanna’s elderly cat Otis, who was a supporter of web literacy until the end.

--

--

Joanna Milner

Library paraprofessional obsessed with information literacy and staff-directed training. Also cats, books & candy.