Why I am feeling “bored” of my friends

João Casimiro
2 min readJul 13, 2018

--

Have you ever felt like you are getting bored of your group of friends? Like you “outgrown” them at some extend? That moment where you feel like you can´t connect with them like you used to?

I don´t mean bored like i don´t like them anymore, i love to spend time with them but… While we have some activity to do , everything is cool, it´s fun, the problem starts when we don´t have anything in particularly to do, when we go out just to talk and hang out.

You see, recently(a few months ago), I started to learn about finances and investing and i was immediately hooked on it. They probably find it boring. How do I know?

I started to talk about what I was learning when we met. They would listen and nod along , maybe ask a question or two but I could see that they did not really engage with what i was saying, that they don't see the world as i was painting it to them in that moment. They don´t share my panic for the “rat race”.

So i stopped. I stopped talking about it as much as I can. I still start to talk about it once in a while but I shut up quickly. They want to talk about the latest football game or what that one guy did or didn´t as opposed to me. I want to talk about ideas , about investing, about being your own boss, about escaping the rat race, and , more importantly, about how to do that. I have a vision of me playing volleyball in the middle of the week because i don't need to worry about money, about schedules, about my boss. I don´t think they see that. They dont think it´s possible, they think i am crazy.

They will probably live by the plan “study, get a degree, get a job, buy a house, have kids, retire”. I want to try stuff, i want to fail and get up, spend long hours working on something that i love, see my efforts get rewarded and “retire” early.

I feel like i am gradually moving away from them.

The question is:

How long can I last?

--

--