Frozen Snap Friday, a Worldwide Collaborative Performance

Joe Wilson
2 min readNov 8, 2016

I love ideas.

They can change your mood, your day and, sometimes, your life.

Collaborating on an idea always creates more possibilities and I’m watching that happen with “Frozen Snap Friday.”

A Frozen Snap involves individuals not moving or blinking for ten seconds, then posting the result on Snapchat.

Initially Frozen Snap Friday was people I know posting Frozen Snaps on Friday, with me sharing screen grabs of their frozen snaps and snapcodes, so other frozen snappers could find each other.

Another idea changed that: Collaboration.

Looking at the portrait shaped snaps, which would create a lot of unused visual space in a traditional video frame, I nixed the idea of making a video playing each Frozen Snap individually. But stacking three across the screen at the same time would be fun.

I asked everyone to email me their frozen snap and I would edit them so that three snaps would play at the same time.

As an editor, I looked at each mashup as a giant puzzle. Scanning all the snaps to see if there were any similarities and then choosing which to combine based on composition.

Then another idea changed that.

After weeks of making the Frozen Snap Friday MASHUP video I asked my internet neighbors to think about who might be next to them in the mashup and offered a few ideas how they could create snaps that could work with other snaps.

That was last week and the ideas that appeared in the mashup video this week were a lot of fun to watch.

And something happened I didn’t anticipate, collaborations within the Frozen Snap Friday Mashup.

Kristy Gillentine and Jan Makkink let me know they had created snaps to work next to each other. Kristy is in the U.S., Jan is in Nederland and they worked out not only the pose, but the words that would appear on screen when combined.

I love ideas.

If you would like to join in the Frozen Snap Friday fun: https://snapchat.com/add/joewilsontv

--

--

Joe Wilson

We are all famous to a few people. Currently battling cancer with a whole lot help from cool people! https://gofund.me/06fc1a3f