Tombstone: Underrated Masterpiece

Walker Sturgeon
11 min readAug 24, 2022

Tombstone is a masterpiece of cinematic construction. I can’t think of a more underrated film overall, nor can I name a film with a greater supporting cast. Shot so well it hasn’t aged a day in thirty years. Written so well I couldn’t ax a single line. Directed to such perfection that I could… well, I’ll show you what I could do:

I’m going to convey (Val Kilmer) Doc Holliday’s entire perfectly executed character arc using only gifs and a few additional frames to show just how expertly Tombstone communicates deep, subtle complexity through tight, efficient cinematography and direction.

Why yes I will and yes I am.

Doc Holliday’s Full Character Arc From Tombstone

Tombstone has, quite literally, more character arcs than I can count and at least twenty set-up-and-pay-off moments.

In fact, I’m rewarded by every rewatch as I continually find more things to praise.

To provide one strong example from the latest rewatch:

--

--

Walker Sturgeon

I am currently a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Mississippi. I publish on a variety of topics from sports to politics. But mostly classic movies.