On The Line — Week 10

John Amoroso
3 min readNov 10, 2016

--

John Amoroso Illustration

The Vegas line on each NFL game is looked at vigorously for those trying to make some extra money or those just looking for who is favored this weekend. Wagers are just another way to spice up the football season. Before my picks each week, I will list my current win/loss and push record from the previous weeks. So I am picking all of the NFL games based on set lines that could or could not win me money if I was a betting man.

Week 9: 8–4–1

Overall Record: 67–61–4 (50.7%)

TNF: Browns at Ravens (-10)

Ravens (-10). Want to take the points in a division game. It always feels as though the AFC North always beat each other up in close games. But we are talking about the Browns here.

Vikings at Redskins (-3)

Redskins (-3). The Vikings will want to come back with a vengeance but the Redskins come off their bye and win.

Packers (-2.5) at Titans

Packers (-2.5). I trust Rodgers (despite his struggles) more than Mariotta (even though he played really well in San Diego last week).

Bears (-1.5) at Buccaneers

Buccaneers (+1.5). The Bucs win straight up at home against the Bears who have been on a high with their recent success and competitive games.

Chiefs at Panthers (-3)

Chiefs (+3). Andy Reid swings this match-up for me and it is really hard to go against Cam Newton at home but Carolina is in a downward spiral.

Falcons at Eagles (PK)

Falcons (PK). The Falcons head to Lincoln Financial Field and out perform the Eagles. This is how easy it is to pick this game: Matt Ryan and company are better overall than Carson Wentz and company.

Rams at Jets (-1.5)

Jets (-1.5). I would take the Rams if Goff was named the starter, but Fitzpatrick or Petty have a better roster around them and barely win. In a field goal game, 1.5 points doesn’t hurt.

Broncos at Saints (-2.5)

Broncos (+2.5). After losing last Sunday night to the Raiders, the Broncos want a bounce back performance and they get it. The Saints defense will let Denver’s offense take off and the Bronco defense makes a play that ends up being the difference.

Texans (-1) at Jaguars

Jaguars (+1). The Jags helped me last week by keeping it close and here, they win outright for me.

Dolphins at Chargers (-4)

Chargers (-4). The Chargers have been my team each and every week picking, I believe. The trend continues.

Cowboys at Steelers (-2.5)

Steelers (-2.5). The Steelers defense always shows up at home and against Dak Prescott, I think they give the Cowboys hell this week.

49ers at Cardinals (-13.5)

49ers (+13.5). Conventional wisdom says take the massive amount of points. I will, even though I think the Cardinals win big.

SNF: Seahawks at Patriots (-7.5)

Patriots (-7.5). The Seahawks get stonewalled by Brady. Enough said.

MNF: Bengals at Giants (-2.5)

Giants (-2.5). The Bengals revert to their prime-time failure and blow it against Eli Manning and Landon Collins makes another big play this week.

***Lines are as of Thursday Nov. 10, 2016 at 8:20 AM EST***

--

--