On The Line — Week 11

John Amoroso
3 min readNov 28, 2016

--

john Amoroso Illustration

The Vegas line on each NFL game is looked at vigorously for those trying to make some extra money or those just looking for who is favored this weekend. Wagers are just another way to spice up the football season. Before my picks each week, I will list my current win/loss and push record from the previous weeks. So I am picking all of the NFL games based on set lines that could or could not win me money if I was a betting man.

Week 10: 6–8

Overall Record: 73–69–4 (50%)

TNF: Saints at Panthers (-3.5)

Panthers (-3.5). Cam gets a win over a defense that is pretty darn bad.

Steelers (-8.5) at Browns

Steelers (-8.5). Pittsburgh will have a field day, in division versus the worst team in the league (to no fault of Hue Jackson).

Ravens at Cowboys (-7.5)

Cowboys (-7.5). There is no question as to how good Dallas’ offense is. I think they win by 10 because Joe Flacco made it close down the stretch. Zeke seals the win with a late touchdown.

Jaguars at Lions (-6.5)

Lions (-6.5). The Jags were my early favorites to tear it up this year. Alas, they are again in a downward spiral. Stafford wins and Detroit remains a contender in the NFC North.

Titans at Colts (-2.5)

Titans (+2.5). I want to ride the Mariota train as long as I can. Titans get the upset and win by at least a touchdown.

Bills at Bengals (-2.5)

Bengals (-2.5). The Bengals have to do something right? They get the job done, barely though. Dalton wins a field goal game that isn’t in primetime.

Buccaneers at Chiefs (-7)

Chiefs (-7). It is almost impossible to pick against the Chiefs right now. The defense gets the job done against Jameis Winston and crew.

Bears at Giants (-6.5)

Giants (-6.5). The Bears are terrible. I hate picking the Giants but it is obviously a win here.

Cardinals at Vikings (-1.5)

Vikings (-1.5). The Cards look bad. I don’t know if they can turn it around against another really good defense that is under preforming.

Dolphins (-1.5) at Rams

Dolphins (-1.5). A team is getting less than a field goal against the Rams. Yes, they have wins but come on now. Miami gets the win easily with Ajayi.

Patriots (-12.5) at 49ers

49ers (+12.5). Don’t like taking the 49ers but I have learned my lesson of not taking this many points.

Eagles at Seahawks (-6.5)

Seahawks (-6.5). Carson Wentz will have his issues in Seattle. Simple selection.

SNF: Packers at Redskins (-3)

Redskins (-3). I always want my team to win. Somehow though Rob Kelly cements his spot on the depth chart and the Redskins get a big prime time win.

MNF: Texans at Raiders (-6.5) — Game in Mexico City

Raiders (-6.5). Brock has not proven to be worth $75 million and Derek Carr has proven to be worth over $100 million. Easy quarterback battle to choose from.

***Lines are as of Thursday Nov. 17, 2016 at 2:45 PM EST***

--

--