On The Line — Week 13

John Amoroso
3 min readDec 2, 2016

--

The Vegas line on each NFL game is looked at vigorously for those trying to make some extra money or those just looking for who is favored this weekend. Wagers are just another way to spice up the football season. Before my picks each week, I will list my current win/loss and push record from the previous weeks. So I am picking all of the NFL games based on set lines that could or could not win me money if I was a betting man.

Week 12: 12–4

Overall Record: 93–79–4 (52.8%)

TNF: Cowboys (-3) at Vikings

Cowboys (-3). I think Dak and Zeke win by a touchdown despite the game being in Minnesota.

Chiefs at Falcons (-4.5)

Falcons (-4.5). Want to take the Chiefs here after the spread moved from 3.5 to 4.5 but Julio Jones had a bummer of a game last week. Each week following a poor performance, Jones has had a huge rebound week. Same story here.

Lions at Saints (-6)

Lions (+6). In Matt Stafford I trust.

Rams at Patriots (-13)

Patriots (-13). As much as I’ve been burned for taking 13+ point favorites, I should have learned by now but, who really thinks the Rams can keep it close?

Broncos (-3.5) at Jaguars

Broncos (-3.5). Denver will head to Jacksonville and dominate against a team that appears to have mailed it in.

Texans at Packers (-6.5)

Packers (-6.5). Rodgers follows up last weeks performance against the Eagles with another spectacular game.

Eagles at Bengals (-1.5)

Bengals (-1.5). in 24 hours, this game shifted 2.5 points towards the Bengals. I was going to take the home dog, and I will stay with them as the home favorite.

Dolphins at Ravens (-3.5)

Dolphins (+3.5). Ravens win by a field goal so that half point means something to me.

49ers at Bears (PK)

Bears (PK). Behind Matt Barkley, DA BEARS get a home win.

Bills at Raiders (-3)

Raiders (-3). How are the Bills only getting 3 points? This is the easiest pick of the week. Raiders by at least a touchdown.

Giants at Steelers (-6.5)

Giants (+6.5). I think the Eli/Ben match-up makes this game stay close whether it is low scoring or a shootout.

Redskins at Cardinals (-2)

Redskins (+2). Kirk Cousins goes to the desert and out throws Carson Palmer.

Buccaneers at Chargers (-4)

Chargers (-4). I love me some Phillip Rivers at home. Chargers become the team to start knocking teams out of the playoffs each week.

SNF: Panthers at Seahawks (-7)

Seahawks (-7). The Panthers are in disarray. I won’t trust Cam Newton in that environment. Last year, the Panthers won late on a lucky pin-point throw from Cam to Greg Olson. It won’t happen again.

MNF: Colts (-2) at Jets

Colts (-2). I hate this game. Luck may get hurt again, but he may not. Who knows. Who cares.

***Lines are as of Thursday Dec. 1, 2016 at 9:45 AM EST***

--

--