On The Line — Week 4

John Amoroso
3 min readSep 29, 2016
John Amoroso Illustration

The Vegas line on each NFL game is looked at vigorously for those trying to make some extra money or those just looking for who is favored this weekend. Wagers are just another way to spice up the football season. Before my picks each week, I will list my current win/loss and push record from the previous weeks. So I am picking all of the NFL games based on set lines that could or could not win me money if I was a betting man.

Week 3: 6–10

Overall Record: 18–29–1 (37.5%)

TNF: Dolphins at Bengals (-8)

Bengals (-8). I just feel like I would get burned for not taking 8 point dogs against a team that doesn’t look good and we all know how bad Andy Dalton is in prime time games BUT I’ll give him a shot tonight.

Colts (-2.5) at Jaguars

Colts (-2.5). I’ll go for Luck to somehow pull another victory out of his ass and win by a field goal or a freak play at the end.

Titans at Texans (-5)

Texans (-5). No Watt, no problem. The Texans were embarrassed last week and take it out on the Titans.

Browns at Redskins (-7.5)

Redskins (-7.5). Not the ideal situation but I just cannot have Cleveland win, on the field or as almost 8 point dogs.

Seahawks (-2.5) at Jets

Seahawks (-2.5). The west to east coast swing for a 1 pm EST game haunts teams but Christine Michael leads the team to a victory.

Bills at Patriots (-6)

Patriots (-6). It does not matter who is the quarterback for New England, they will win and you know who comes back next week…so watch out.

Panthers (-3) at Falcons

Panthers (-3). Carolina has looked off this year but that is because they were just so great last year. The Falcons beat a horrible Saints team on Monday night but won’t beat the class of the their own division.

Raiders at Ravens (-3.5)

Raiders (+3.5). Somehow I just believe that Derek Carr will win the game. Plus, the Raiders are dogs so taking the points only helps me.

Lions (-3) at Bears

Lions (-3). No garbage time stats for Matt Stafford this week as the Lions put the Bears away early.

Broncos (-3) at Buccaneers

Buccaneers (+3). The obvious choice is Denver but the Bucs have had two bad losses in a row (Arizona and Los Angeles). Damn you Broncos defense for making this pick so hard, but I have to make up ground somewhere.

Rams at Cardinals (-8)

Cardinals (-8). The Rams have surprised us all by winning their last two games playing horrible offensive football. Palmer lights up the Rams secondary.

Saints at Chargers (-4)

Chargers (-4). I’ll take the Chargers two weeks in a row because last week was a fluky loss to the Colts and the cherry on top is that the Saints look horrible.

Cowboys (-2) at 49ers

Cowboys (-2). Dak Prescott just manages the game so well that I just cannot see San Francisco creating turnovers. Even if it is a field goal win, I get the Cowboys? Sure.

SNF: Chiefs at Steelers (-4.5)

Steelers (-4.5). Pittsburgh is in the same boat as Tampa Bay. They will respond well to bad losses with a bang.

MNF: Giants at Vikings (-5)

Vikings (-5). Just riding the Vikings for another week just because I want to see the Giants lose back to back games.

***Lines are as of Wednesday Sept. 29, 2016 at 1:23 PM EST***

--

--