On The Line — Week 5

John Amoroso
3 min readOct 6, 2016

--

John Amoroso Illustration

The Vegas line on each NFL game is looked at vigorously for those trying to make some extra money or those just looking for who is favored this weekend. Wagers are just another way to spice up the football season. Before my picks each week, I will list my current win/loss and push record from the previous weeks. So I am picking all of the NFL games based on set lines that could or could not win me money if I was a betting man.

Week 4: 8–7

Overall Record: 26–36–1 (41.3%)

TNF: Cardinals (-3.5) at 49ers

Cardinals (-3.5). I don’t like seeing the Cards dropping to 1–4 and I hate Drew Stanton starting but I have belief that Fitzgerald and Johnson pull the team out of a hole.

Redskins at Ravens (-4)

Redskins (+4). I’ll take the points because even if Tucker gets a game winner, I win. Plus I think Chris Thompson (Washington’s 3rd down/receiving back) makes some kind of play to keep the Redskins in the game.

Patriots (-10.5) at Browns

Patriots (-10.5). TB12 takes on the world by completing his first task: destroying the Browns.

Eagles (-3) at Lions

Eagles (-3). I almost took Detroit here because Matt “garbage time stat filler” Stafford could make it a game late but I’ll take Philly.

Bears at Colts (-4.5)

Colts (-4.5). The team is embarrassed they lost in London to the Jags so they take revenge out on the Bears who surprised everyone by beating the almost-trendy Lions last week.

Titans at Dolphins (-3.5)

Titans (+3.5). The worst game of the week by far. I pass on Ryan Tannehill in favor of Mariota.

Texans at Vikings (-6.5)

Vikings (-6.5). Nothing frustrates me more than how poorly Oswieler has played for the Texans so far. The struggles continue against a defense that can shut down top level receivers.

Jets at Steelers (-7)

Steelers (-7). The big differential between quarterbacks puts all the money on Pittsburgh and I’ll buy in too.

Falcons at Broncos (-5.5)

Broncos (-5–5). Atlanta is for real but not on the road in Denver against that defense. Sorry.

Bengals (-1) at Cowboys

Cowboys (+1). This line makes no sense and when you get one like this you have to ask, do you take the bait? I will.

Bills at Rams (-2.5)

Bills (+2.5). I can’t take the Rams seriously with their basically anemic offense. But I can’t take Rex Ryan anymore. The lesser evil: the one that isn’t on the field playing.

Chargers at Raiders (-3.5)

Raiders (-3.5). IT COULD BE A TRAP! Watch out Raiders, but I believe.

SNF: Giants at Packers (-7.5)

Packers (-7.5). Come on Rodgers! Discount double check your way to a win on Sunday Night Football.

MNF: Buccaneers at Panthers

Panthers. Everyone is waiting to make a call on this game because of Cam Newton’s status. I might change my pick later depending on the spread because we still have until Monday.

***Lines are as of Thursday Oct. 6, 2016 at 1:08 PM EST***

--

--