John Argote-Rodriguez
4 min readSep 9, 2020

PHINEAS AND FERB THE MOVIE: CANDACE AGAINST THE UNIVERSE — Movie Review

Image via Disney+

By John Argote Rodriguez

ROAD TO CANDACE AGAINST THE UNIVERSE

“Phineas and Ferb the Movie: Candace Against the Universe” was released on August 28, 2020 on Disney+ and this time we find Candace abducted by aliens due to being the chosen one, but soon finds all isn’t as it seems. The movie is directed by Bob Bowen.

I wasn’t anticipating this movie, but I was gonna watch it regardless. “Phineas and Ferb” was something I watched when it first premiered when I was in 3rd grade back in 2007, but I stopped as the series progressed because it got, well stupid. The series just became idiotic and I couldn’t stand some of the characters, but hey this movie premiered 5 years after the series ended, though the characters appear in that God-awful show “Milo Murphy’s Law”.

Image via Disney+

“Phineas and Ferb the Movie: Candace Against the Universe” feels more like an extended episode rather then a movie and not the good episodes. Now “Phineas and Ferb” isn’t an awful movie, but it’s not good either.

Every now and then I do watch the earlier episodes from the show and Disney+, it’s still a nostalgic show, but the show’s concept got old and this movie is just more of the same thing we’ve seen before only it’s a little longer.

Image via Disney+

I know it sounds like I’m hating on the movie, but it does have some good things to it. For one Vincent Martella as Phineas is a great match and he’s grown with the role which makes Phineas feel more attached to since a good portion of us like myself grew up with the show we feel attached to the character along with Martella’s portrayal of him.

“Phineas and Ferb” does have some genuinely funny moments most of them for me come from Dr. Heinz Doofenshmirtz who I love, even as “Phineas and Ferb” became dull Doofenshmirtz never did, I swear the misfortune that guy faces is funny especially when him and Perry the Platypus as Agent P go at it, which is unfortunate that Perry doesn’t have much to do in the movie and because he can’t reveal his identity as a secret agent in front of Phineas and the gang which sucked because he was only in the movie in a few snippets at a time.

Image via Disney+

Most of the humor didn’t work for me because as the series progressed they started to become more self-referential and meta similar to “Family Guy”, maybe it has some to do with creator Dan Povenmire being a director for the show prior to developing “Phineas and Ferb”, but they took it too damn far with how in your face the humor is. What makes “Family Guy’s” meta jokes funny is because they use it sparingly. This movie used them every single damn time and it’s not funny after the 3rd or 4th one.

Now this negative is more of a me thing, but even when the show premiered back in 2007 I have NEVER liked Isabella, I can’t stand that character at all. There’s a scene when her and Doofenshmirtz go at it because she’s taking lead in a alien planet… a fucking 12 year old taking charge in a unknown alien planet.

Image via Disney+

To which Doofenshmirtz correctly tells her to fuck off “I’m an adult you’re a kid.” so you kids should follow me. I know I’m overreacting because it’s a kids show where the kids are smart and the adult is a supposed to be a bumbling idiot even though his Inators are stuff that are physically impossible and shouldn’t exist yet he does, but then this bitch has the audacity to question him that leads to a musical number that’s basically Professor Doofenshmirtz putting Isabella’s cocky ass in her place. Once again this is stemming for my personal dislike for the character.

Phineas could of done better…

Image via Disney+

Anyways, “Phineas and Ferb the Movie: Candace Against the Universe” is an okay movie at best. I don’t regret watching it, but I’m not gonna go back to watch it any time soon either, but you guys liked “Phineas and Ferb” as it was when it ended then I’m sure you’re gonna like this movie so don’t let this man’s opinion stray you away, but “Phineas and Ferb the Movie: Across the 2nd Dimension” was a better movie.

Grade: C-

John Argote-Rodriguez

🎥🎬Film Director, Screenwriter, Actor, Filmmaker, and Film Pundit🎭🎭