Defi Design Tips Vol. 6

Jon Crabb
4 min readJun 23, 2022

An ongoing series in which I record UX/UI improvements I have noticed in DeFi. This is my own competitive analysis, as I collect things I find interesting, useful, or delightful. As a DeFi designer myself, I want a bunch of ideas to test.

Read the others here: Vol. 1, Vol. 2, Vol. 3, Vol. 4, Vol. 5

This is now the sixth month in a row that I’ve written one of these. I worried I might struggle to find material, but I’m still noticing new patterns, minor tweaks, or smoother flows.

Writing this in June 2022 as the bear market takes hold, and DeFi TVL plummets, I’m noticing something of a consolidation. Fewer copycat apps are appearing, and the bigger apps are converging on what might cautiously be referred to as ‘best practice’ — although that term is dubious in such a young industry.

I will continue this series for the rest of the year, but I will also start to take stock of the best patterns and try to summarise definitive learnings. As always, if you work in web3, please feel free to reach out. I love talking to other designers and builders. :)

1. Show network descriptions when connecting

ref. Union Finance

Ignore the bad grammar in the title. Nice use of badges/chips to show the key points of each network.

As the number of EVMs continues to grow, users are confronted by increasingly long and bewildering lists of networks…

--

--