Day 89 Capstone Begins

Jon Ramer
3 min readJul 6, 2017

--

Charley, James and Me from left to right. Photo Credit to Noni

Day 89 is in the books and my capstone project is officially underway. We had the last two days off for the 4th of July so I had some of my cohort mates over for a party. It was a nice way to decompress a little before our capstones started.

Capstone Period

So it’s officially that time! I will be spending the next two weeks focussed solely on my capstone project. I got started today and I feel pretty good about what I was able to accomplish. I spent the first half of the day coming up with the right schema for my database. I went through several iterations before coming up with something that should work for my MVP. I also had to narrow the scope a bit in order to have a more attainable MVP. The concept for this app is fairly simple, but the implementation is pretty complex. I’ve got it down to a manageable MVP now though. After lunch I started putting the foundation in place. I created a new repo on GitHub for the project and made my first commit. Once that was done I created my database in Postgres and setup my server. I spent the rest of the day creating migrations and seeds to get my database to a place where I can test routes tomorrow. It was a lot of fun to get back into Node and Express.

White boarding my schema this morning
Users table migration using KnexJS

Tomorrow

First thing tomorrow morning I will be writing routes. Actually I will likely spend the entire day writing routes. If I get all of my routes done including authorization and authentication that will be a huge success. At that point I will be mostly done with my back-end at least as far as my MVP is concerned. Ideally I would be done with my back-end no later than Friday, because I have a lot of views to create for this site as well. Our instructor gave us a goal of finishing our MVP by Wednesday of next week so I need to make good time in order to hit that mark.

Sanity Check

So far I’ve been able to remain incredibly excited and I’m having a lot of fun on this project. I’ve been able to keep a pretty good perspective and not let the pressure get to me. That being said it’s still early and as time passes I’m sure I will start to feel the pressure a bit more. I’m trying to remember that this is a really fun project that I got to choose. I know that won’t always be the case on the job so I’m trying to enjoy this as much as possible. I’ll keep you posted on whether or not I’m able to stay cool as we get into next week and that MVP deadline is approaching.

I’m off to bed to try and get some good sleep tonight. I want to stay fresh so I can get a lot done tomorrow and Friday. I’ll keep you guys posted on my progress as always! Until next time…happy coding!

89 down 11 to go

--

--