Which House Democrats Voted for Trump’s Anti-Immigrant Agenda Today?

Jonathan Cohn
Jun 30, 2017 · 3 min read

We are only five months into the Trump presidency, and we have already seen a lot of anti-immigrant policy out of the White House.

Now, we shouldn’t pretend that Trump’s ramped-up deportation machine came out of nowhere. Obama oversaw a record number of deportations as president. But, as with many other issues, Trump takes terrible bipartisan policies and practices, makes them even worse, and gloats while doing so.

The House today decided they wanted join in on the anti-immigrant action with two bills: Kate’s Law and the No Sanctuary for Criminals Act.

Kate’s Law is named after Kathryn Steinle, who was killed in July 2015 in San Francisco by an undocumented immigrant. The Republican’s bill, however, would not have prevented that tragedy.

The bill increases the already harsh penalties for undocumented immigrants who reenter the United States, including individuals with no criminal history, individuals who seek to apply for asylum, and individuals who actually have permission to reenter. Immigrants coming to the US do so to escape unstable and unsafe conditions in their home countries (unfortunately, unstable and unsafe conditions the US often had a role in creating) or to reunite with family members living here.

Moreover, under this unnecessary and punitive bill, misdemeanors like driving without a license or loitering could lead to ten-year prison sentences. And by taking away immigrants’ ability to challenge prior removal orders, the bill violates the constitutional right to due process.

The bill passed 257 to 167.

233 Republicans and 24 Democrats voted for it. 166 Democrats and 1 Republican — Justin Amash (MI-03) — voted against it.

Here are the 24 Democrats:

Matt Cartwright (PA-17)

Jim Cooper (TN-09)

Joe Courtney (CT-02)

Charlie Crist (FL-13)

Henry Cuellar (TX-28)

Pete DeFazio (OR-04)

Val Demings (FL-10)

Elizabeth Esty (CT-05)

Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05)

Brian Higgins (NY-26)

Bill Keating (MA-09)

Ron Kind (WI-03)

Annie Kuster (NH-02)

Jim Langevin (RI-02)

John Larson (CT-01)

Dan Lipinski (IL-03)

Stephen Lynch (MA-08)

Stephanie Murphy (FL-07)

Tom O’Halleran (AZ-01)

Collin Peterson (MN-07)

Dutch Ruppersberger (MD-02)

Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09)

Jackie Speier (CA-14)

Eric Swalwell (CA-15)

The House GOP’s No Sanctuary for Criminals Act has nothing to do with sanctuary for criminals. Instead, it would unconstitutionally require state and local law enforcement agencies to violate the Fourth Amendment by requiring them to imprison people without due process or probable cause at the request of federal immigration agents. The bill would also withhold millions of dollars in federal grant money from jurisdictions nationwide that actually abide by the Fourth Amendment.

The bill passed 228 to 195. 225 Republicans and 3 Democrats voted for it, and 188 Democrats and 7 Republicans voted against it.

The 3 Democrats were Matt Cartwright (PA-17), Henry Cuellar (TX-28), and Collin Peterson (MN-07).

The 7 Republicans were Justin Amash (MI-03), Carlos Curbelo (FL-26), Mario Diaz Balart (FL-25), Dan Donovan (NY-11), Pete King (NY-02), Dave Reichert (WA-07), and Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL-27).

Jonathan Cohn

Written by

Editor. Bibliophile. Gadfly. Environmentalist. Super-volunteer for progressive campaigns. Boston by way of Baltimore, London, NYC, DC, and Philly.