How I Lost 40 Pounds and Got in the Best Shape of my Life

Jonathan Little
9 min readSep 25, 2017

In this article, I am not only going to tell you how I became overweight, but I will also explain how I got in the best shape of my life.

Throughout this post, I will outline changes you can make to your eating habits to get in great shape with minimal effort.

My Past

As a 12-year-old boy, my diet consisted of microwavable chicken pot pies, canned vegetables, and Coca-Cola. Sometimes we would get lucky and have pizza or Chinese food.

Due to being reasonably active, I was not overweight as a child. As I got a bit older, the junk food started taking its toll. I ate this same trashy diet, which is fairly typical for most Americans, until I turned around 19.

When I started playing poker professionally at the age of 19, I weighed about 150 pounds and was not in good shape. The concept of physical fitness was completely foreign to me. By the time I was 22 years old, I weighed 185 pounds and was blatantly fat. Apparently sitting around and playing poker all of the time is not a good way to be physically fit.

Waking Up

One day, I woke up, looked in the mirror, and saw an obese, unhealthy young man staring back at me. Something had to change.

I decided it would be a good idea to get healthy by eating primarily grilled chicken with BBQ sauce and drinking cranberry juice. I assumed chicken must be healthy because it has almost no fat…

--

--