Interview: Power Rangers Rita Repulsa Voice Actress Barbara Goodson

Jonathan Harris
10 min readMar 26, 2023

--

Rita Repulsa is back in the new Netflix special, ‘Power Rangers Once & Always’ (Netflix)

Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers is coming back for a 30th anniversary special on Netflix, called 'Once & Always’. Rangers from throughout the three year run of the Mighty Morphin’ iteration of the series will be back. Also returning is the very first villain that started off the entire franchise, Rita Repulsa. Also returning to do the iconic voice of Rita Repulsa, is Barbara Goodson.

In 2010, I interviewed Goodson about the role, how she got it, how she lost it, how she got it back again - and more!

Jonathan Harris: How did you come to be the voice of Rita Repulsa?

Barbara Goodson: I worked for Saban at this point for a few years and was usually cast in leading roles as boys, girls, moms, grannies, witches, etc. They just handed me the role and said to do her like the Wicked Witch. I did and then they had a focus group that said — The Empress wasn’t scary enough. Instead of redirecting me, they fired me and held auditions. I was incensed by that decision and requested an audition and they agreed. I knew they wanted it scarier so the combination of being fired and now knowing what they really wanted gave me the inspiration to channel that maniacal voice!

JH: What was it like to play Rita for so many years?

BG: It was a dream role … if not monetarily rewarding, she was a definite creative challenge.


JH: What effect did it have on your life and your career?

BG: A truly positive one. I got to find the balance between playing the humor and the evil sensibility. It has been very satisfying to have brought pleasure and fond memories to so many people through Rita’s antics! I also learned to negotiate for myself.

JH: During the first season Rita was portrayed by Machiko Soga via footage from ZyuRanger in Japan. Since Soga was actually speaking Japanese did you find it difficult providing the voice for Rita that first season?

BG: That was always a bone of contention. It’s hard enough to dub cartoon characters that are Japanese and make it look right. A live person speaking Japanese in close-ups with huge open mouth expressions was virtually impossible to make precise. I pride myself on lip flap accuracy but time constraints, moving the story along and having the same footage played in different episodes with different plot lines caused some pretty awful flapidge!

JH: In 2006, after a battle with pancreatic cancer, Machiko Soga passed away. How did you feel when you heard of her passing?

BG: I was so sad about it. I really respected her artistry and also the accomplished career she had in Japan. She was a very talented woman and I felt a kinship with her. I thought that she and I would have enjoyed one another’s company.

JH: Did you ever get a chance to meet her?

BG: Unfortunately, no.

JH: Did you ever meet any of the actresses that portrayed Rita?

BG: Carla Perez and I worked at the studio on different stages at the same time. We met at some cast parties as well.

JH: Between 1993 and 2006 Rita was portrayed by 3 different actresses (Machiko Soga, Carla Perez and Julia Cortez) but always voiced by you. Was there ever any talk of you portraying her as well as providing her voice?

BG: After they ran out of Machiko Soga footage, at first that was that. The job was over. Then I heard they were bringing her back and it would be cast in Los Angeles. I campaigned with a video of myself in the costume and a monologue I had written. Tony Oliver shot it. I also took a picture in the costume and gave it to the producers. It said, “Out of Work Empress Seeks Employment”. I had high hopes but alas they wanted a lookalike of Machiko, only younger. I may have the coloring but I’m not Asian or exotic. Carla really resembled a younger version of Machiko. I would have loved to play her full out (and Carla would’ve loved to also do the voice as well).

JH: In 1994 as a part of the second season Rita’s character was removed from the show only to return the same season: Do you know why she was removed? Do you know what brought her back so quickly?

BG: Nope. Either they ran out of Machiko Soga footage or hadn’t decided yet to bring her back. I like to think they got letters asking for her return … (hint, hint). There was also some rumor that Lord Zedd was too sinister. So some of that may be the reason.

JH: What was it like for you as her voice when you found out she was being removed and then to find out she was coming back?

BG: Very sorry when she was kaput and then very surprised and happy when she was resurrected!! As I said I was hoping for the whole role but I honestly think what they chose to do worked extremely well.

JH: In one episode of Power Rangers Lord Zedd referred to Rita’s voice as being able to “peel paint”. Was it ever difficult to do her voice? Did it hurt your throat?

BG: Aww, how sweet! Rita would tire my chords out and if I had an audition for a sweeter, younger, bell tone character I tried my best to schedule it before a Rita session. The 8 hour session to do the Universal show made me hoarse for a few days. Generally diaphragmatic breathing and drinking water did the trick.

JH: Fans have noted that both Rita and Lord Zedd changed a bit during the second season and from that point on. Did you notice a change in Rita and if so what did you think of it?

BG: I wasn’t aware of it. Unless we became more like a bickering, comic married couple. That’s the only thing I can think of which some may have liked better and others not so much. We were definitely having a good time playing off each other.

JH: Are you bothered by people associating you with the character of Rita?

BG: Hell no! She’s part of my history as well. She got me through menopause.

JH: In a 2006 Jetix poll Rita Repulsa was voted the best Power Rangers villain of all time. How does that feel?

BG: Terrible … KIDDING!! I didn’t know that. I’m thrilled and humbled.

JH: It was announced recently that Haim Saban has bought back the ‘Power Rangers’ franchise and filming is set to begin on the 18th season. What are your thoughts on that?

BG: “Hire me, Haim”! I think in his hands it hopefully has the chance to be improved upon again.

JH: If there was talk of bringing Rita back (it certainly wouldn’t be the first time), would you be on board to provide her voice again?

BG: Absolutely. I’m ready to record right now. The pipes are still in working order. It’d be fantastic. This time … maybe even union from the getgo!

JH: Why do you think Power Rangers has such an enduring presence after almost 20 years?

BG: Something about the combination of high school heroes, explosions, bright costumes, giant monsters, over the top villains and good triumphing over doofy evil is a sure fire mix for success with kids.

JH: People know Robert Axelrod did the voice for Lord Zedd, but many people were surprised to find out he also did the voice of Finster as well. Are there any voice on Power Rangers aside from Rita’s that you’ve done that might surprise people?

BG: Orbus and Sprocket and the female Mandilock. With Orbus and Sprocket I had a number to audition, so they didn’t know they were casting me. Ahh, those were the days.

JH: You attended the 2009 Anime Expo along with countless other stars from the show, what was that like for you?

BG: Surprisingly incredible. I hadn’t a clue I had made such an impact on people’s lives when they were young. It really was so heart warming. I had been refusing conventions before that thinking, “ what’s the point, I’m just the voice, no one will recognize me” and now I have started accepting more invitations. It’s a win/win. The fans are happy and that makes me very happy.

JH: There will be a Power Morphicon convention in Pasadena in August, will you be attending?

BG:You betcha!

JH: I kind of touched on this earlier but what was your career like before, during and after Rita?

BG: Before Rita I was doing many voices for different cartoons for Saban. Before that I started with my dear friend the late Carl Macek doing Anime for Robotech, Akira, Vampire Hunter D, etc. Before that I started by dubbing Spanish soap operas into English. I also did nightclubs with characters and music I put together and some television, original animation and commercials. During Power Rangers I also worked in other cartoons, looping, plays and movies. Mostly independent films. Not much mainstream work for me. Now it’s about the same. An assortment of interactive games, cartoons, indie films, television, theatre and always auditioning and waiting to grab that brass ring! Part of the actor’s job as you know, is constantly looking for work.

JH: You’ve done both on camera and off camera work, which do you enjoy the most?

BG: Whoa, I have difficulty answering that one. I adore the VO work. It’s so creative and rewarding. However, my dream was and still is to be a successful on camera actor … one that makes a really consistent living. That is still my dream. To do a sitcom, an episodic show, a great part in a film. I want to stretch my instrument to its fullest. I also would love a cartoon series and to come back as Rita! Theatre is another love of mine and so is singing. Well … you asked!! I guess I’m going to have to live a long time.

JH: Your first project dates back almost 40 years ago, do you ever plan to retire?

BG: Ummm, what does ‘retire’ mean?

JH: Is it true that you’ve done voices for Final Fantasy, Resident Evil, Dragon Ball and Avatar: The Last Air Bender?

BG: Yes, I’m happy to report I’ve had a few bookings playing regal or nasty, wizened characters in some cartoons and games these days.

JH: What are some of your other current projects?

BG: I played Mother Talzin the Rumanian Sorceress in Clone Wars, episodes 3 & 4. I’m working on a really sweet cartoon called Cloud Bread as a little Spanish boy fox named Ruiz and a shy sheep named Wooli and assorted other teachers, monkeys, etc. I just played Mother Teresa in Welcome Back Satan which is a comic Indie Feature in post production. I have two games this week but cannot report the titles yet.

JH: You were born in New York, what brought you to California?

BG: I had the idea that sitcoms would be my ‘road to stardom’ in my twenties.

JH: What would you say is the biggest difference between New York and California?

BG: New York is great if you’re young and fabulous if you have an established name and the money to afford living there. I highly recommend living in New York for any young actor or creative being. California has more obscure ways to be in this business and easier to maneuver and survive. Weather wise and work wise. If you aren’t a big name it’s still easier to make a modest living in some form of the career of your choice.

JH: Do you ever go back / plan to go back to New York?

BG: I go back to visit family. I audition sometimes when I’m there for voice work but to settle there, no. Unless I was hired to do something, not to look for work.

JH: You recently celebrated your 26th wedding anniversary with your husband. How was that?

BG: We had a quiet, romantic day of celebration. I am very lucky to have found such a dear, sweet partner to share my life.

JH: How is it being married for so many years?

BG: I count it as one of my greatest successes. We work hard at it but the initial connection we had made it easier to sustain. I’m not all that easy to take 24/7 (and either is he) and we’ve been through a lot together but we learned to use our communication skills and we genuinely love, enjoy and appreciate each other.

JH: At this point in your life, what would you say is your biggest accomplishment and/or what makes you happiest?

BG: Raising our handsome, intelligent, talented son Andrew. He’s a marvel to me. Motherhood is my biggest accomplishment. He graduates UCBerkeley this week and starts on his dream of writing for film and television. I’m very proud of him for so many reasons. I also love to vegg out with friends and family watching a great movie or singing and jamming at a party or conversing with good food & wine! Or take me to the tropics and I’m very gifted at doing nothing quite effortlessly! I also need to work creatively as an actor or I start to feel stagnant … and I need to laugh … a lot.

JH: People can keep up with you at BarbaraGoodson.com. Is there anywhere else? Are you on Twitter?

BG: No, not a twitterer. I also don’t friend people too often (sorry) because I’m not very Facebook savvy. Hey, I’m an old broad! I do answer questions on my website email address. I tried to create a fan page on Facebook but I don’t think I did it correctly.

JH: Thank you so much for taking the time for this interview. You’re an incredible lady. Thank you so much.

BG: Thank you, Jonathan. It does my heart good to be acknowledged and appreciated and to give YOU a smile as well. Here’s a wish that we all follow our dreams and make peace with however it manifests!!

Power Rangers Once & Always will air on Netflix on April 19.

--

--

Jonathan Harris

Jonathan Harris has been a columnist since 2009, covering politics, entertainment and technology. In 2013 he began as an on-air political commentator.