Stay The Course

Jonny Parker, MBA
3 min readMar 2, 2017

How do we stay the course in a dysfunctional world? How do we stay the course when it seems everything is going wrong? As a man of God, I understand that everything happens for a reason. I understand that everything that happens to me is in my best interest. Regardless of what negativity comes my way, I will respond with 20x more positivity. Once we make the decision as human beings to change the way we think, change will come. In today’s society we want change now! We want results within a blink of an eye.

Now understand that some people’s changes and blessings come more quickly, while others can take time. Months and years may go by, but stand strong with your head high and know your change is coming! Do not be easily discouraged, discouragement is everywhere. Stay the course, continue walking in faith through the agony. Receiving blessings takes patience! Have you ever heard of the phrase “falling in love with the process”?

I’ve heard this phrase countless times in my basketball career, and it has been key to my success in becoming the best basketball player I can be. With falling in love with the process of who you want to become, staying the course becomes so much easier. Stay determined to press on and watch your destination come closer and closer.

“The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord” T.D. Jakes

While staying the course, no matter how hard it is, we all have to go up steps. The steps we go through in life, shape and build our character. Now I don’t know about you, but I enjoy going up steps far more than I do going down them. I love improvement. I want to grow each and every day God blesses me to with and you should too. When you wake up each morning, to improve your day, start with some positivity. A little self-encouragement can go a long way.

Now do not think that each step in life is easy. Some steps may be dirty, and painful, annoying but know that God is building us up on those steps. God will never give you more than you can handle. In 1 Corinthians 10:13, Paul tells us: “God is faithful, and he will not let you be tested beyond your strength but with your testing, he will also provide the way out so that you may be able to endure it.” So stand fast. When adversity hits know that you can withstand and endure the hardships it may bring. Allow God to work on you during these steps in your course of life.

Thank God for those steps, because you know it is preparing you for greatness! “The same God that set a date for you to get in trouble, has set a date for you to get out of trouble” (T.D. Jakes). Stay the course no matter what comes in your path and watch blessings start to overflow in your life. Know this; there must be an adjustment on the steps before we get to the big stage. When the timing is right, you will get there. Stay the Course!

“Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him” James 1:12

The best is yet to come!

--

--