Blink… to the future.

It’s always been easier for me to see ten years down the road, than to know for sure what’s next.

Josh Miles
4 min readJan 26, 2018

--

On the last day of high school, one of my classmates stuck a rickety VHS camcorder in my face. As I recoiled slightly, I noticed the tiny red light blinking in my face.

“OK… this is for the time capsule! What are you gonna be doing in ten years?!”

“That’s easy,” I stated plainly. “I’m going to be running my own design firm.”

First off, you should know that I had little idea in 1995 exactly what a design firm did, or what that role would entail, but I was pretty sure it was my best shot at using my passion for art and design to be self employed. But for me it’s always been easier for me to see ten years down the road, than to know for sure what’s next.

In 2002 I acted on the small voice in my heart telling me, “NOW is the time.” Almost exactly three years ahead of schedule, I filed paperwork with the state of Indiana to open Miles Design, LLC. The humble beginnings of this adventure stereotypically started in my basement, where I worked nights and weekends on freelance logo design and websites.

--

--

Josh Miles

brand-obsessed strategist / keynote speaker / cmo / photographer / bold brand 2.0 author / caffeine addict / podcaster & chief future officer