Don’t shoot yourself in the foot… like I did

Joshua VanDeBrake
3 min readAug 24, 2016

--

A few months ago, I was interviewing for a position at a digital marketing agency. I’d been talking with the CEO casually on-and-off for a few months leading up to it.

Then, on a Saturday morning, I was getting my shoes on to go get my haircut. (Side note: I get my hair cut every 2 weeks.) My phone rang. I thought “that’s odd,” recognized the number as an OC area code, and picked up. It was the guy from the agency! On his way home from the gym. We talked for a cool 15 minutes and set up an interview for that following Monday at 4:15pm. Sweet! I thought to myself.

I got my hair cut then ate some breakfast. The weekend continued… and went.

Monday arrived

First off, I knew almost exactly where the office was. After all, I’d gone to school only 2 miles down the road. But I couldn’t figure out where exactly it was, so I sent him a quick text. “Hey man, I just pulled up but I can’t find your office”…”oh, no problem. I’ll come down to get you.” Turns out there are offices above the Starbucks and sandwich shop in that little plaza. It was above the sandwich shop.

All was fine and dandy, the interview seemed to go well (I forgot to bring a copy of my resume). I met a few members of the team (close to half of them were gone for Coachella or some other event). Everything seemed to be going great! I liked the people I was meeting, and got a good vibe from the place. They told me to talk it over with my wife and give them a call. So, we talked and around 8pm, I gave him a call. Apparently, that was test #1 — proactivity. And I passed.

Over the next couple days, we emailed a little. And by “we” I mean I mostly just sent over quick reminders of why I was a good fit (maybe a little too much). And I got to talk on the phone with one of the guys from the interview.

Then I shot myself in the foot

I wasn’t super familiar with the hiring process, and how long it can take — or how long it usually takes. So, keep in mind: I interviewed on Monday. I expected to hear back on Tuesday, Wednesday at the latest.

This whole week had been a roller coaster. I felt guilty leaving my current job. I felt scared about the potential of moving to something different, where I might not succeed. Then I’d be out of a job! I did something rash…

I sent an email. It outlined a couple things, and explained I was no longer pursuing the position. Not even 72 hours after the interview, I basically told them it was taking too long. Looking back, I feel like a sleazy car salesman, giving a take-it-or-leave-it-RIGHT-NOW type of approach.

I felt terrible about it, and still feel bad about how I handled it.

A while later, once all the dust had settled, I sent over another email. An apology, laying out exactly why I did what I did, and how wrong of me it was to do it that way. I hate burned bridges. This was the first time in my life that I’d done something quite like this. Luckily, those guys are awesome and welcomed my apology. All is well with the world. The bridge is now partially restored.

So, while I would’ve loved the chance to work with them (and still would!), and even though the bridge has been tentatively restored, I don’t think I’ll ever get that chance back.

I shot myself in the foot. And now I live with a limp. But don’t pity me, I’m stronger because of it.

If you enjoyed reading, please let me know by tapping that little heart!

I read every single comment.

--

--

Joshua VanDeBrake

Passionate about Marketing, Startups, & VC. Full-Stack Marketer. Ambivert. Millennial.