Lauv — I met you when I was 18 (the playlist) Review

The compilation album by the American singer Lauv, full of pop potencial radio hits with indie, synth and dance-pop touches made it as part of my 15 album recommendation list.

Juan Pablo Barrera

--

Finally realized on may 31, 2018 and I say finally because all the tracks have been being realized since may 19, 2017, when “I Like Me Better” was realized. At first I didn’t know that so I became a fan listening to his singles but, when I found out that there was going to be an album I waited till it was realized. Lauv announced this to us by an statement in a screenshot he uploaded to Twitter:

“This has all been part of the same story. A chapter of my life. Moving to New York City when I was 18 for school and not knowing who I was or who I wanted wanted to be. Falling in love for the first time and being in a 4 year relationship that taught me everything about myself, the world, and how to love. Discovering and defining who I really was and struggling to have the confidence to truly be that person. Learning to trust myself, even when it was the scariest thing in the world. I did the only thing I knew how to do and turn my feelings into songs and share them. But the songs have been out of order. I didn’t realize it then, and the truth is I’m still figuring it out, but there’s a thread and all I know is I want to share it with you guys the same way I’ve been piecing it together myself. So starting today, I’ve put all of these songs in order as a playlist. It’s called “I Met You When I Was 18.” The puzzle is incomplete, and I’m going to be releasing a lot of new music that fills in the gaps until this chapter of my life is fully told.“

So I waited til all the tracks were realized to finally take a listen to the whole thing, and the result it’s what I would call a worth the wait project.

The album stands out mainly because of its melodies, production, harmonization as for the perfect combination that they turn out to have, every song in the album is a catchy pop anthem, and I really enjoy it, because the result is that but you don’t feel any intention in the artist itself to become a mainstream artist so it’s pretty cool to be able to have this catchy pop songs without them being played all day in the radio.

“I met you when I was 18" made it to my recommendation list at the last place, but not least. Lauv really nailed it, and for being a debut album I don’t have nothing I would change about it, I would speak shortly about each song that stands out for me.

I Like Me Better

The first track from the album it’s the hit from the album with more than 577 million streams on Spotify and it deserves more, Lauv managed to get such hit with one of his first singles ever realized. I met him with this song and it didn’t make me think “ oh good song” it made me think “I need to listen to more from this guy” so it has to be a great song for me to say that so you know.

Paranoid

This one is a total dance-pop banger, the lyrical content is pretty straight forward but it’s not common at all to hear someone to talk about jealously this way and to question your own by telling yourself you’re paranoid. Sonically the production and Lauv’s voice are melting the whole track, which is a pretty enjoyable thing.

Reforget

Catchy and lyrically is beautifully written, it talks about when you had a relationship with someone who is always getting in your head, and if we think about it, it happens a lot but I can’t remember many songs that talk about it.

The Story Never Ends

It’s a heartbreaking song cause you can feel through the whole song that he is really in a no way out place, the song is pretty honest, and one line I really have to highlight; “Crash the car, blame the road” it’s my favorite one from the album. In this track Lauv’s voice really stands out and more does his falsetto.

Enemies

Another catchy pop melody, it might feel a little bit repetitive at first but the glowing beats and very relatable lyrical content make it as good as the other best ones in the album, specially when we talk about how fearless musicality talking Lauv is, in this one we can see that clearly.

Come Back Home

The meaning in this one is pretty straight forward, but it adds a lot of importance to the story by telling her (whoever the song is written to) that she should come back home, because to him home is already something with her. Also sonically talking it’s refreshing to have different changes from the 1st to the 2nd chorus and how we can hear a delicious combination of both in the 3th.

Question (feat. Travis Mills)

Sonically this one is different from the rest is a great change without compromising the album essence and it definitely isn’t a bad thing, the verses rythm brings an edm/dubstep vibe that complements the constant dance-pop we see in the whole album. Lauv dared to make this track and he nailed it entirely.

Adrenaline

As the name of the track you can feel the adrenaline in the sound of the track, is very dance, remarkable harmonization and the bridge is amazing.

Chasing Fire

As we see in the whole album, but specially this track, Lauv isn’t afraid of Loud Beats, I don’t know if that’s how you call them but you get me, the sound and the lyric content are simply a perfect match. Another thing I noticed is that the track keeps going up, every time that you think it is at its highest, it gets higher.

Breathe

What can I say about this one, it’s my favorite song from Lauv, I first heard it after hearing “I Like Me Better” when I was listening “more” from him. This song is pure heart, it can get a bit sad but it’s just the best one from the album, remarkable lines like “you’re my all and more” or “you taught me all I know”, and the production God! Honesty at 100%. It makes me tear up every time I listen to it. This are some of my notes for this song:

Getting Over You

This is another one where Lauv’s voice shines, it has very unique lyrics and it compounds the fact that in this relationship Lauv has been in an on and out road. The lyrics are pretty unique and the song it self is repetitive but in a good way

So all these are the reasons why “I met you when I was 18 (the playlist)” made it to 15th place in my recommendation list for 2018. It’s a great post-heartbreak dance-pop album, it’s pretty different and it might take time but this record is absolutely something else. I know many people’d enjoy.

--

--