Hacking Creativity: What Tracking Every Minute It Took to Write a Book Taught Me About Creativity

Jukka Aalho
The Startup
Published in
15 min readFeb 12, 2020

--

Can tracking creativity help you be more productive? Will listening to binaural beats unlock some secret source of creativity? If all you have is 30 minutes per day and a lifetime supply of self-doubt, is it possible to power through and write a book?

In 2017, I decided to write a modern road trip novel and track every minute of the book project into a spreadsheet called the Spreadsheet of Life. I shared my findings in my TEDx talk, but this article will go deeper. Strap in.

Why I Started Hacking Creativity

  • To find out how long it takes to write a book
  • To discover ways to stay productive
  • To keep myself accountable and gamify writing
  • To inspire others to embrace their creativity
  • To have something substantial to market my book with

What You’ll Learn in This Article

This article is a deep dive into the different aspects of my attempt to hack creativity–with plenty of actionable tips to go with it.

--

--

Jukka Aalho
The Startup

Writer | Marketer | TEDx Speaker | Creative Entrepreneur. Co-author of Aum Golly – Poems on Humanity by an Artificial Intelligence.