Julian Barrell
2 min readMay 22, 2017

--

I am aware of open badges and they were something I looked into years ago, when I was trying to get some of my initial ideas off the ground.

Unless I’m wrong, they are just a unique identifier that can be stored in an individuals virtual rucksack once someone or something deems that certain criteria have been met.

The tool used to base my atom approach would need to be far more integrated. Essentially all atoms would exist within the same universe where they all obey fundamental rules and freely interact with one and other. More like a version of Conway’s Game of Life that could lead to unique and surprising learning profiles from relatively simple universal rules.

The analogy I am currently working is that an atom’s nucleus is the core knowledge and understanding provided by any individual or organisation. The outer electron shells become energised by the learning of a committed individual. As atoms become energised links can be made with other atoms forming molecules that are unique for each individual.

My concept would not depend on the agreement of a framework such as common core standards. If you disagree with the common core standards simply develop your own atom using a simple generation tool and throw it out into the universe.

One example of this could be based on the current situation in the UK, where the government are ensuring every school follows a very prescriptive approach to the teaching of grammar. The effectiveness of teaching is heavily judged upon the results of standardised tests. Michael Rosen, a famous children’s writer, is very vocal about the damage this approach could cause and is always making well informed comments and observations on his Facebook site. It would be far more beneficial if Michael were able to form a parallel alternative to inspire and inform quality writing. A great deal of interest would be generated from the offset.

In terms of my atom analogy, the current government model would be reflected by an atom with outer electron shells energised by the successful completion of a series of integrated tests, possibly completed within certified exam centres to ensure no cheating. The atom generated by Michael Rosen would possibly be energised in totally different ways, allowing stories to be written, read, performed and perfected.

Schools or learners may well have a disposition towards one method or the other but at least there would space for both approaches, or even a linked combination, to exist.

It could be argued that governments and other agencies may be very reluctant to relinquish their central control over what is taught but if no one is exploring alternative possibilities there will never be any new vision to consider should an opportunity exist.

I’m not sure if I have successfully addressed the point you made in your last paragraph. I guess that ultimately learners would generate their own atoms leading to truly novel particles.

I must admit though, I’m still trying to extrapolate exactly what you mean. I am aware that I am several steps behind you with my understanding and knowledge of the theories and arguments that have already been formulated in this area.

--

--

Julian Barrell

Reflecting on creative teaching to inform innovation in education.