First Day of [Grad] School.

Julian Gross
2 min readJan 24, 2016

--

Today, is the day I embark on yet another educational escapade. Hopefully, I make it out of this program in one piece. Just kidding, I am ready for the challenges that Georgetown University’s Public Relations/Corporate Communication program (PRCC for short) is going to throw at me.

To be honest: I STILL DO NOT KNOW HOW I GOT INTO THE PROGRAM, but I am just going to continue counting my limitless blessings, hehe. I really need to stop joking, I worked hard as hell on my application. I declined gatherings with friends to make sure my portfolio was perfect. Sorry friends, but my education comes first.

SIDENOTE: It pays off to have pertinent internship and career experience. When it came time to assemble my application I had more than enough content to put in my portfolio to show the admissions committee.

This week we’re working on a modified schedule. My Monday night class is on a Wednesday this week (blah!). Nevertheless, I love the first week of class for the simple fact of getting out early.

Anyway, I arrive to my corporate communications class and take my seat. I’m early of course, about 20 minutes. The professor isn’t in the room yet, but I do greet and have cute little conversations with the students that come in.

Once again the room is filled with women, white and a lot of blondes, which is pretty much the stereotype of PR professionals. No pressure, no pressure, I’m used to this lack of diversity in the field. I thrive on being the needle in the haystack. I would love to see more males in the field, and even people of color. Just something, DIFFERENT.

Instruction for tonight was pretty straightforward since it was the first night. We did our introductions, reviewed the syllabus and got in groups for our class projects. I can already tell I’m going to love and learn a lot from the course. The professor has a ton of experience and definitely knows her stuff. Sucks my next CC class isn’t for another two weeks due to MLK Day. I’ll probably visit the MLK monument Monday, take tons of photos, maybe even shed a tear.

More developments to come…

--

--

Julian Gross

Pseudo-Influencer of some sort | YouTuber 💻 | @TempleUniv🦉| @Georgetown🐶