“From Boy javelin to boy Java” — 1st experience in Java coffee.

Mic and Dream - Juliani
5 min readMay 2, 2016

--

This is a line off the song Mtaa Mentality; which later became the title for my first album.

I wasn’t always Boy Java until one incident changed all this. By that time I was a little famous with one or two guys stopping me, confirming if am the real juliani.

I had this marvin I used to wear which doubled as a fashion statement and at the same time, hiding my bad hair.

Fashion statement because it was a signature for my then hip-hop group “Mau Mau Camp". Bad hair because I was advised that there’s a difference between “dreads” and “locks" being street dictated I have dreads - which meant no salon, anyway it’s not like I would chose to spend ksh 500 making my hair. A concotion of Avocado and Eggs would do.I Wonder why the ladies never got close to me, I managed to convince myself it was because I was too hardcore,street.

So this story is about my first experience at Java coffee house, junction I would never forget. By this time, I knew my way around. I mean Kanjii mbugua heard me rap and immediately made me stay at Kijiji records. Black man then the producer thought I was a Genius with lyrics and was excited to work with me and Astar was still trying to figure out words coming out of my mouth. Apparently, he has never had someone rap in sheng before and I also let him know , English wasn’t my first language. Black man was a good mixture of both our worlds. He made me change my delivery, I used to rap fast.

We met at a Kubamba krew high school mission at Moi forces academy. Myself and Richard “Astar” Njau. We became good friend after this, inseparable. We had nothing in common apart from music.

I really thank Astar for introducing me to Kijiji records because, my stage performance as we know it now might have never materialised. I came in as a rapper after my interaction with the greats like Aaron Rimbui, Dan Aceda(Sana sana was the biggest song then, alisumbua sana),Atemi, Michelle and RIGGA(ulitutisha sana na French) I became a MUSICIAN. Kanjii Mbugua was a mentor, a big influence, God father.

Astar was a visionary, he lead the group HipHope all Christian rap group. We were a force to reckon with. Live band performances. Astar began the whole revolution of selling CDs for ksh 100 instead of, with the Imation logo, he packaged it well. All the ladies liked him, he made them cry! Not like we were doing it for the ladies but we were young and being surrounded by men with Bass and no rollons at a highschool talking about “Juliani you are the best rapper” isn’t part of a rappers dream, some sopranos and screams from ladies can be a lil encouraging especially with my marvin.

Earlier before the Moi forces mission. Lena of Zaidi ya muziki came to my moms kiosk found me making samosas and asked me if I could join them for a mission. First time to meet Dj Moz and Njugush.

I knew lena and kaberere by then. We both grew up in Dandora and Kaberere I knew him through one of my best friends Feisal who they were schooling with at Aghakhan high school. Kaberere would visit Dandora phase 4 time to time that is way before I cleared my primary school.

First forward weeks after the mission performance.

I spent nights and days at Kenya science opposite Nakumatt junction with Astar and Black man most of the time at the Kijiji records studio.

I recorded “Pendo kweli” my first love song at Kijiji actually this was my first song after Jesusnosis and before Mtaa mentality (if you don’t know Jesus nosis please don’t tell me how you are a fan. Pages za bible wasn’t even my song)

Here we are, got into Java, way back before they started playing local music, before “Lazizi” when Bien sauti sol was a struggling rapper. Budah, don’t make me expose you.

https://youtu.be/VUBcYkh2YOA

I saw the menu; made me wonder are we ordering food or studying for a home science exam? A menu with pages. Later found out guacamole is actually an Avacodo imebondwa bondwa. Ndio nikajua, nabebwa ufala.

Forgive me, my background is a kiosk with the menu on the wall of the kiosk, written.with chalk and it’s always straight to the point.

So the waiter approached us, am sitting opposite Black man. No worries, since am not paying. How dare they sell 500ml water for that much. I would easily buy 50, 20litre kibuyu of water in my hood but non of my business, after all am not paying.

The waiter asked Black man what he would like to have, Blackman answered “Double mocha”

Am looking at the menu still can’t believe am seeing food being explained on a menu.

Then the waiter turned to me asking what I would like to have. I was flabbergasted(alama ya mshangao)

Am I missing something, the waiter looked at me like, he knew that I didn’t know what I was doing. So I whisper “sorry!” later I cursed myself that the right response if you don’t get a question is “Pardon”

He asked again “what would you like to have?" I looked at Black man like, am I missing something??

So I turned to the waiter, looked at him straight in the eye, pointing at Black man and said “He said DOUBLE MOCHA”

So the waiter reached close to me like “I beg your pardon?”

I answered with more authority this time “DOUBLE MOCHA- a single for him and a single for me"

UGhetto ilinimaliza!

www.jacarandagardens.co.ke

@jacarandgardens

JACARANDA GARDENS

Presents

Mic And A Dream

Mtaa Mentality Live concert

MAY 27th at National Theatre

Tickets open May 16th starting price ksh 800. Online on www.mymsanii.com/events

--

--

Mic and Dream - Juliani

Changing the rhythm of the world through Music, Art, Tech & Finance!