Biden Steps Down

KT Finley
2 min readJul 21, 2024

This is what patriotism looks like

Photo created by author via Canva.

I wrote an article not long ago about the bravery and integrity it would take for someone to step aside for the good of their country.

When I saw breaking news about President Joe Biden’s decision to end his re-election efforts, I wondered what factored into his change of heart.

I parked my cart to read his full statement.

Pressure aside, I do think he showed integrity and courage in making what had to be a difficult choice.

He has earned my respect.

If the Democrats and Biden had addressed the elephant in the room even a year ago, things might look different. Unfortunately, the election is less than 4 months away and I don’t see a replacement gaining enough traction to change the trajectory.

President Biden endorsed VP Kamala Harris as a suitable replacement. She has followed that up with an announcement of her candidacy. I’m not certain the country is ready to accept her as a viable candidate. She has largely been a shadow these last few years and her record as…

--

--

KT Finley

I think (too much) therefore I write. Striving to be a better human.