Spreading Awareness on the School to Prison Pipeline

Kyle Wickware
2 min readMay 31, 2016

--

Sent Away by Kyle Wickware

I walk through quads and hallways

Not knowing which ones were sent away

Some of us go and do homework till midnight

While others work to sleep at home tonight

School has started its the beginning of the day

Another friend was sent away

The cops surveil and monitor my school

However they treat us like we are the fools

Why do they want to protect us

When all they do is arrest us

The principal has become the police chief

We went from students to just another thief

We are the future and are being locked up

Just because at my age my mother got knocked up

Books and backpacks are mere distractions

No matter what we do the police take action

Math Class is like a police lineup

You never know where your classmates will end up

The bell has rung and lunch is on its way

Another friend was sent away

The teachers call lunch time “prison break”

Every step outside is another students life at stake

My friend forgot to return a library book

Handcuffs and shackles on him because he is the real crook

Graffiti on the walls and trash on the ground

We are always told we have the right to not make a sound

Its times like this when we truly see

We are not the real priority

In P.E. we run hard, hard breaths in full stride

For this is practice for our real lives

What we are running from, we don’t know

We keep getting pushed away for its all we know

The school bell rings and its the end of the day

I am being sent away

--

--

Kyle Wickware

I am a Broadcasting and Electronic Communication Arts major at SFSU, Produce/Write/Record my own music and I love Musical Theater