Eric Roberson-Worth Every Dime, Every Time

Kai Love
4 min readOct 11, 2015

--

As an avid concertgoer (more than 200 shows in my lifetime), I have some pretty consistent expectations of performers. A balance of old songs, with newer songs, and some cover songs. A never performed new song; even better. When I am at a concert, I want the music, ambience and personality of the performer to give me life. I want to feel like my money matters and that the performer cares about me singularly and all of the concertgoers collectively.

Now, my expectations haven’t always gone so according to plan. There was the no-show Rakim concert. Wasn’t his fault though, something with promotions and when he did the make up show I died a little bit and went to rap heaven that night. There was the Jay Z concert at the HOB where is was extremely cold outside and the House of Blues-Chicago had the concertgoers waiting in line for 2 hours despite stating the doors were going to be opening at a certain time. I got really sick after that show too.

There was the 2 hours late Erykah Badu show, but at least I was inside and she did all her albums, Chaka Khan’s greatest hits, became a DJ mid-set, and a praise dancer on the song, “Orange Moon”. Hell I was so spiritual full after that show from all that talent she gave me, I didn’t even remember she was 2 hours late until writing this piece. Y’all know I love her right? And then it was D’Angelo who damn near whispers when he singing, so them microphones have to right and they weren’t and he walked off the stage saying, “Fuck this shit!”

Lastly, during a Dwele concert, he forgot the words to one of his songs and then caught the case of the giggles and the show went downhill from there. But I have seen that man 30 times and will continue to see him, because I LOVE me some Dwele.

However, there is a consummate performer and showman that I want to highlight, and that is the great Eric Roberson. For us soul heads, we have been rocking with Erro, since his days at Howard University. For many others, especially in Chicago it was the cult house classic, “Change For Me”, that made you Google or Shazam to find out who the artist was. I have seen Eric Roberson in concert 17 times; four of those times have been outside of Chicago and 2 of those times have been outside of the United States. So, whenever I hear about an Eric Roberson show, I collect my coinage and purchase a ticket.

Wednesday, July 15th was no exception as Eric Roberson performed the first of three sold out shows at the City Winery in Chicago. First, this Brother knows how to dress! Fashioned like the 50’s he stepped on stage with a fedora, suit, vest, pocket square and all the accessories to demonstrate his flyness. He opened his set with Picture Perfect, which is a recorded duo with the super talented Phonte (Little Brother and Foreign Exchange).

Eric Roberson not only sings and dances, but he is a standup comedian. Of all the concerts I have ever attended, he is the one that makes me laugh and clap the hardest. He is super funny on stage with his commentary, facial expressions, and vocal tricks. One thing he always does in his show is creating a song on the spot with word or phrase recommendations from the audience. Well Chicago, did not disappoint on Wednesday night as they recommended: honey dripper, tomato, on fleek, world wind, ice cream, and truffle butter. Eric handled this challenged with ease and the song was not only hilarious, but soulfully amazing. The drip drops ad libs were everything!

Over the years I have seen Eric’s concert performance change. Depending upon the album he is promoting and the venue, the band composition can be full or really full. Wednesday’s night show was really full with a horn section, keys, drums, strings and his back up singer. Eric Roberson’s back up singer, who can sang his face off, his name escapes me right now (my sincerest apologies), and is proudly single, lol, blessed us with a little Isley Brothers “Between the Sheets.”

Then there was a Brother playing the keys and had an instrument hanging from his neck. I couldn’t tell if it was a bass or one of those Roger N Zapp keyboard thingy, but he was fine so I had to give him a little shine.

Now Eric Roberson is married with two children and I certainly respect, honor, and celebrate that. But we have to acknowledge that he is super-talented and super sexy. Some of my fellow women-folk acknowledged it just a bit too much, which prompted Eric to tell a table of Ladies, “This entire side is out of control right now!”

Despite being such a an entertaining live musical performer, every now and then Eric Roberson has to remind us that he can really sing. He had some surgery to his vocal chords last year, but seems to be recovering great!

Lastly, no Eric Roberson show in Chicago would be complete unless he ended with Change for Me. If you have not had the opportunity to see him live, I certainly encourage you to do so. Be prepared to laugh, hear some good soulful music, and be fully entertained. He is worth every dime, every time.

Kai Love 7–17–15

Originally published at kailovesu.com on July 17, 2015.

--

--

Kai Love

Philanthropist. PhD. Entrepreneur. Writer. Poet. Singer/Songwriter. Comedian. Voice Artist. Dreamer. Doer.