Mapping

Kate McLean
2 min readNov 1, 2015

--

While reading Timo’s dissertation, I was drawn to one of the diagrams in particular. Figure 9 on page 22 shows an infinite cycling between culture and material with communication between at the meeting points of the two. Additionally, the diagram illustrates the place for analysis and production within this cycle. I decided to map out the wicked problem my paper topic, which focuses on tractors, the role of copyright law and policy decisions, and the stakeholders in this point of tension. I tried linking my problem to the various categories of Timo’s diagram as a way to understand where all my topic’s players fit into the equation. Furthermore, I tried to place myself as a designer into the diagram to see where I felt my strengths were in the design process as well as the areas I should investigate more. There were many interesting conclusions and insights gained through this exercise. I feel like I understand how to discuss the issues at play and have located a possible lynchpin in the system that I want to research more in depth to assess the opportunities this area may present.

Below is the full shot of my mapping exercise and two additional detail shots:

--

--