Illustration celebrating my participation on the New Founders Launchpad Programme by Hatch

Launchpad and My Dream Business

Katherine Cory
3 min readJun 3, 2023

--

In February 2023, I applied for a place on Hatch Enterprise’s New Founders Launchpad Programme. Luckily, I was accepted and started the course in May.

My background

I have been a freelance graphic and web designer for over 12 years. However, I have reached a point where I want to share my own ideas with the world, rather than solely designing for clients and watching their businesses succeed. For those who have followed me on Instagram in recent years, you have seen my growing passion for pattern design and illustration. I regularly post designs and product samples, as I have wanted to start a product business for several years, but for various reasons, I haven’t taken the big leap.

There are multiple reasons why I haven’t… First and foremost, I really want to ensure the success of a new business, so I am almost too scared to try in case it fails. I am also well aware of how different a product business is. To put it simply, as a freelancer, all I need is a laptop, an Internet connection, Dropbox, and Adobe CC; the barrier to entry is quite low. However, I have come to realise that I am quite risk-averse. The idea of taking a leap and investing in a significant amount of stock really frightens me, especially if it doesn’t sell!

I am also easily distracted. I have more ideas than I have time, and I must admit sometimes I can lack focus. Complicating matters further, I have a chronic illness (ME/CFS), which severely limits my energy levels. I need to keep freelancing so I can afford to start a new business but it’s hard to juggle my health, freelancing and also trying to start a new business.

Lastly, my confidence levels are currently quite low. The pandemic has significantly impacted the creative industry, and I know I am not the only one struggling with its unpredictability and unreliability. Consequently, my confidence has suffered as a result.

Why Hatch?

I started my freelance career after attending a course called “Start Up and Go” by the University of Derby. The course was designed for individuals who had been made redundant (I lost my web design job in the 2009 recession), and it ran alongside an Enterprise Inc course. Although the course was excellent, I soaked up the information primarily from the perspective of a service-based business. Therefore, I am hopeful that Hatch can provide me with insights into running a product business. Additionally, I am still good friends with some of my classmates from 2010, so I am hoping for a brand new community of like-minded people in a similar situation. I am also definitely in need of some structure and accountability.

Finally, due to my health, I do struggle to get to real life events so the fact that Hatch runs online through Zoom is absolutely perfect for me.

The Course

The Launchpad course runs for 12 weeks and there’s 68 founders divided into 4 cohorts. We have 6 expert sessions every fortnight, and our cohort of approximately 16, meets biweekly on another night. We receive homework assignments and have a homework club. Additionally, we are given 2 one-on-one sessions with a mentor, have an active WhatsApp group, and even participate in pitch days and a graduation ceremony!

The idea of the course is not to launch a business within 12 weeks. We can still be in the ideation phase, but hopefully, we will gain the necessary skills to plan and launch a business when we feel ready.

I am a couple of weeks into the course now, and I absolutely love storytelling so I thought I would document my progress throughout the 3 months.

Stay tuned for another blog about my experience of the course!

Work with me!

My portfolio is available on Dribbble at http://katherinecory.com, where you can see more of my freelance work. If you’d like to view more of my illustrations and patterns, please visit my Instagram page at http://instagram.com/katherinecory!

Alternate “Hatch” illustration

--

--

Katherine Cory

Hello! I'm Katherine, by day I design brands and build websites and by night I’m an aspiring surface pattern designer, all from the lovely but rainy Manchester.