What’s with the Law of Attraction Anyway? A Scientific Perspective.

Katy-Rose, MSc, BSc, PWP
9 min readMar 15, 2021

I began my self-development journey in the early 2000s, with a self-help book on Neuro-Linguistic Programming and a Yahoo Group Forum on Native American spirituality. Yeah. As you do.

Across the past fifteen years, I’ve been exploring the various threads that bring together identity, reinvention, sense of progress, and growth. One of the first “tools” I used was this Law of Attraction.

I learned about it via a movie called ‘The Secret’ at the end of 2006 when I was struggling with my mental and physical health. I’d spent a few days in hospital, and I was dealing with a ‘this is how my life is’ experience.

For me, finding this theory gave me a sense of control and hope that things could change, even where I felt I could not control the things around me.

As an adult, I look at it with mixed feelings. For context, I have a Masters in Cognitive Neuroscience and am also attuned in Reiki healing.
Just to give a bit of disclosure of where I’m coming from.

--

--

Katy-Rose, MSc, BSc, PWP

Melding Neuroscience & self-help to teach curious lifelong learners to redefine their resilience, personal growth, and sense of control.