Why we are Broken, but Cats can be Rescued.

Katy-Rose, MSc, BSc, PWP
5 min readSep 6, 2020
Photo by Jilbert Ebrahimi on Unsplash

Something I see a lot in my work, and struggled with myself for years, was the idea of being broken, or failing, or of not being ‘strong enough.’

There was this sense that because I had experienced struggles, I had to ensure I didn’t revert back or get triggered 100% of the time, else I was “clearly unfixable.”

And this belief is only becoming more common.

Glennon Doyle put into words something I could never express before in her book Untamed:

“Broken means: does not function as it was designed to function. A broken human is one who does not function the way humans are designed to function. We all seem to function in the exact same way: we have unrealized dreams and deep regrets. We are certain that we were meant for more and that we don’t even deserve what we have. We live with rage bubbling. We are at war with our bodies, our minds, our souls. We are at war with one another. You will never change the fact that being human is hard, so you must change your idea that it was ever supposed to be easy.”

Mic drop, anyone?

Photo by Elijah Hiett on Unsplash

--

--

Katy-Rose, MSc, BSc, PWP

Melding Neuroscience & self-help to teach curious lifelong learners to redefine their resilience, personal growth, and sense of control.