Philadelphia Museum of Art

Kayla
3 min readNov 6, 2016

--

Dali, Mark, and I

What better way to spend an afternoon than to visit the Philadelphia Museum of Art? Honestly, it’s one of the most beautiful collections of art at a single location for a reasonable price. If you’re low on cash, go to the museum on the first Sunday of any month (10am–5pm) or any Wednesday (5pm–8:45pm) and you can choose what to pay (Yes, even a penny).

Current Exhibition at the Philadelphia Museum of Art

The current exhibition made me fall in love with Mexican Modernism. Since viewing the exhibition, I’ve been quite obsessed with learning about artists like Diego Rivera, David Alfaro Siqueiros, Rufino Tamayo, Julio Castellanos, and of course — Frida Kahlo. If I lived in Philadelphia, I’d visit more than once in order to get the full experience from the exhibition. Particularly, I was struck by Frida Kahlo’s “Self Portrait 1932”. To Frida, the difference between Mexico and United States is painful. The pain is evident in every brushstroke she produced in her self portrait. I viewed this painting online, but to see it in person and to experience it, makes me want to cry. I think it’s what makes Frida remarkable.

Although the current exhibition alone is absolutely a reason to visit the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the collection held by the museum is equally impressive.

Close-up of The Moorish Chief by Eduard Charlemont taken by me

I can’t get over the amazing amount of details in the painting, The Moorish Chief. I found myself stepping forward to see the details and then stepping back to understand the full picture. I was consumed by the elegance of his cloth and the gentleness of his hands.

The Japanese Footbridge and the Water Lily Pool, Giverny” by Claude Monet

Another one of my favorites was “The Japanese Footbridge and the Water Lily Pool, Giverny” by Claude Monet. The amount of detail, the color palette, and Monet’s impressionist technique is incredible. Monet has one of the most identifiable styles I’ve ever witnessed. Anytime I bumped into a Monet painting at the gallery, I knew it was his.

Side note: How can I hold my composure when I’m standing next to a piece of art that takes my breath away?

When it was time to leave, Mark and I bumped into a 4 year old child and his mother in the parking lot elevator. The child told his mother, “I love the art museum, Mom. It’s my favorite.” And his mother responded with a smile, “Then, I’m glad we’re here.”

I looked at Mark and in silence, I repeated those last words.

“I’m glad we’re here.”

--

--

Kayla

this is a blog to discuss film, art, literature, music, and food.