ILKB logo

50 Kickboxing Classes Later, This Is What Happened

I took up kickboxing a few weeks ago in mid August, 2016. Now, I’m addicted! If you have been thinking about joining ILoveKickboxing, you might find this post useful. Let me know if you do.

Kayleigh Mihalko
3 min readJan 17, 2017

--

Kickboxing is a great way to workout and to de-stress. There is nothing like punching the crap out of a bag!

I’m about to take my 51st class at ILoveKickboxing (ILKB), so I thought it would be a good opportunity to share what my experience has been and what I have gotten out it it so far.

Soft and Strong! This was taken around the end of month 1.

Classes 1–10

Before I joined ILKB, I had never joined a gym before. I wrote about my experiences with starting these classes in another post, so if you are interested in how great their new member training is, read My ILoveKickboxing Journey.

I was quite nervous during my first few classes, but once I got the hang of it, nothing could stop me! I started feeling hints of changes in my body and could tell this was going to work.

Classes 11–20

I started feeling stronger and more confident. Each class was getting just a little bit easier. Bumping up from two classes a week to three was not as difficult as I thought it was going to be.

It was during these classes that I also participated in the 45 Day Transformation challenge. The goal was to go to 15+ classes in 45 days. I lost 9.5 total inches and about 4 lbs.

Classes 21–30

My body was really starting to get used to moving the way it needed to in order to punch harder and kick faster.

Each month, ILKB has a theme night. They encourage each member to dress up for class and they decorate the studio. For October, which fell during this time, I dressed up in my Day of The Dead costume. It was fun!

Classes 31–40

After a small setback, I went back to class hungry. I had fallen down some stairs and tweaked my neck. I didn’t want to risk an injury, so I took a week off.

This turned out to be a good thing, because my first class back was probably the best class I have taken. I felt very confident and was landing punches and kicks correctly.

Classes 41–50

I have really started noticing muscles in my arms and upper body become more defined. I feel stronger. Other people have started to notice. My clothes fit very loose.

When I signed up, I was worried that this was going to be something I did for a few classes and then stopped. But, 50 classes in and counting, it has become a routine and a part of my life that I am proud of. In fact, being able to do this has given me confidence to do more.

During the month of January, I am doing Whole30 and feel even better about myself. Not to mention, this has really kicked my weight loss to the next level.

This was taken after the 45 Day Challenge, some time in October 2016

--

--

Kayleigh Mihalko

I write about #lifelessons and #NaNoWriMo (writing), with a little work/entrepreneurship sprinkled in for good measure.