How I Earned $20,000 Writing A Daily Newsletter

KeenanRIVALS
10 min readJun 12, 2022
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

I spent the majority of my teenage years binge watching YouTube videos. I would watch just about anything, vlogs, shopping hauls, home renovations… you name it, I binged it.

I was fascinated at people’s ability to upload and simply share their journey. In a way, it captivated me, and in 2017 I dropped everything to try and share my own stories online.

Initially I tried YouTube, but that didn’t work out. I went from being obsessed about sharing to wondering if my face looked fat on camera. I wasn’t comfortable being the host of my own show and after a few years of forcing myself to do so, I ultimately gave it up.

This left a pretty big gap in my life for a few years. I was still learning and I still had this desire to share, but I just didn’t feel comfortable on the major platforms that we use today.

YouTube, TikTok, Instagram… they all put a focus on video!

How Substack changed everything for me!

Showing my face wasn’t the only battle I had to go up against when I began my YouTube journey. I also worried about subscriber count, at my peak I believe my channel had 3,500 subscribers. I felt like I was never going to cross 100,000 and I was never going to earn that silver Play Button.

--

--

KeenanRIVALS

Coffee-obsessed introvert. Tips on content creation, personal growth, and AI tools for creators. Follow for insights and advice. monetized.substack.com