Girls Who Code — #Match10 @girlswhocode

Kelli Mohr
2 min readApr 4, 2015

--

As a women in Tech, I understand the need for more women in our field. In my Computer Science program, I could usually be described as the only girl in class. Of course that wasn’t all the time, some gal pals and I would plan to take some courses together.

Throughout my career, I have often been the only woman on the team or project. I would also find that I was given the most of the administrative tasks along with my development duties. This could include project management, documentation, or product management. The time spent on the additional tasks took away from the time I could be spending increasing my development skills.

I love organizations like Girls Who Code because they expose more girls to STEM fields. I happened on Computer Science by chance when my college boyfriend was struggling with a Visual Basic 6 assignment. I figured out his problem, loved the feeling, and signed up for the class the next quarter. I spent my summer quarter making programs and I was hooked!

I think I’d be a math teacher right now if I hadn’t helped him with his problem. That’s why we need more organizations showing girls opportunities in Computer Science that they may not even know about!

Please join me in donating to Girls Who Code and help girls like me find their dream.

--

--

Kelli Mohr

Spend my days in the Cloud. Keep things simple and efficient. Software Engineer. DevOps Enthusiast. Agile Evangelist. Amateur farmer.