Books I Recommend Reading, and Why

Wild Free Kelly Green
8 min readMay 4, 2024

--

Note: This list, like many of the others, is an ever-changing work in progress and is subject to expand and change as needed. That being said, if there is a book you feel should be included here, please reach out! I’m always looking to expand my book collection and would love to check it out.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Books. What more is there to say? If you’re like me, you know all about the joy of reading a really nice book, whether it’s for entertainment purposes or learning about something of interest to you. I’ve yet to find any other source of information that rivals the amount of richness and depth you find reading a good book on the subject.

These books may not be entirely sustainability-related, but I know everyone appreciates a good book and I thought I’d share ones that have impacted my life in a significant way. These are the criteria I have in mind when choosing books to list here:

  • Sustainability-oriented: Green topics such as those about plants, insects, the outside world. Maybe having to do with ways we can be more conscious of our footprint. You get the idea.
  • Mind-altering: Presenting new ideas, or reinventing old ideas in a way that grabs your attention and makes you see your life differently.
  • Optimistic: If it doesn’t make things a little more cheery after I’m done reading it, I probably wouldn’t give it a second read. That being said, there are some more serious or dystopian books I do enjoy.

Here they are!

A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle

A New Earth was published after The Power of Now, and between the two I think I prefer this one. If you’ve read The Power of Now and are thinking, “That’s great and all, but how can I apply this in more real-life scenarios that affect me? I still have to choose a career and make major life decisions while I’m here.” This is probably the right book for you.

Another huge focus of this book is the human ego and how it ruins our relationships with other people (think fighting with your partner or losing friends on Facebook), how to identify when conflict is coming from the ego and not something more important, and how to diffuse it so you can interact peacefully with others and yourself.

On a personal level, this book helped me to have more control of my PMDD symptoms when they arose. I felt more like a “normal” person and more capable of handling conflicts when they arose, not to mention the feeling of freedom that came with knowing I could manage it on my own instead of relying on pharmaceuticals. TLDR: Read this one, for sure!

Code Red by Lisa Lister

If, as a woman, you’ve ever believed you were cursed because you have to deal with having a period, you should read this book. It’s unfortunate that we’ve been taught to vilify our bodies for what we think are justified reasons (cramps, endometriosis, PMDD, etc.) when the reality may be that we’re simply misunderstanding ourselves and the way our cycle was intended to operate.

Code Red gives us insight into the more natural way of living with our feminine cycle and how doing so can not only help us manage the undesirable aspects of our womanhood, but also tap into what Lisa calls “superpowers” that are only available to us during certain times in our cycle. Slight spoiler: there are superpowers to be had in every phase of the feminine cycle!

The Brain that Changes Itself by Norman Doidge

This book completely changed the way I think about the brain and certain illnesses within the body and brain, including mental illness. The Brain that Changes Itself is about the latest developments and breakthroughs in neuroscience.

What I love the most about this book is that it isn’t just wishful thinking. The author covers real case studies of what seem to be miracles (completely recovering from debilitating strokes, cures for disorders you’ve probably never even heard of) and then explains how neuroscientists and researchers were able to find out what made them happen to replicate the results for the larger public. The brain is so much more elastic and adaptable than we ever gave it credit for, and I’m excited to see what good things come from this new understanding of the mind.

The Ethical Slut by Dossie Easton and Janet Hardy

I read The Ethical Slut while exploring nonmonogamy in college and definitely recommend it for anyone who is interested in learning more about non-traditional relationships like polyamory, swinging, or even friends with benefits. The authors do a great job at opening your eyes to the possibilities of what can go right and what there is to be excited about with nonmonogamy while also providing items to be more careful and diligent about, such as communicating expectations and boundaries beforehand and the importance of strong and clear communication overall. It’s a fun read for the curious and a great way to gauge your feelings on the subject before going any deeper with it.

The Hive and the Honey Bee

The Hive and the Honey Bee is known as the Bible of beekeeping and is a hefty tome with more than 40 authors. It’s a must-have for anyone considering going into beekeeping, because I honestly believe it contains more information on honey bees than any other book out there.

I initially began reading it because it was required for the beekeeping class I took at ASU, and for good reason. I learned more about bees than I ever thought possible, and there was so much to glean from it that I started having regular dreams about bees in my sleep (a strange phenomenon that continues to this day). Topics include the history of beekeeping, the different models of hives and tools used in beekeeping, a plethora of knowledge about honey bee development and physiology, and so much more.

The Power by Rhonda Byrne

The sequel to The Secret, The Power offers more practical ways you can apply The Secret to your everyday life. Though, practical is still a stretch given that The Secret is very theoretical and abstract in nature.

Of the two, I would definitely recommend The Power more. I like being able to take new knowledge and use it, and having some suggestions to work with goes a long way. If The Secret is the intro to the Law of Attraction, The Power is like a guidebook to tell you how to use it to get anything you want (in theory).

True story: I did use what I’d learned from The Power to manifest myself some spicy chicken nuggets from McDonald’s, and perhaps a few more hundred dollars at work. Otherwise, I’ve yet to test its full potential.

The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle

I was never great at meditating. In fact, I still struggle with it. But reading The Power of Now has helped me so much to be present and identify things that are causing me unnecessary pain in my day-to-day life.

There isn’t any original information being presented here per se, just a reframing of things you may already be familiar with if you are familiar the teachings of Jesus or Buddha (Love thy neighbor, existence is suffering, etc.). It’s a book that is friendly to the religious and non-religious alike, and I think ties together old adages in a way that really makes you believe in their truth.

At the very least, it may help you get your head out of the mental traps that keep us stuck racing toward finish lines we’ll never reach, and more toward spiritual enlightenment or true happiness.

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

You may have seen the movie based on this book. I haven’t, so I have no idea if it’s good or not compared to the original. But I can tell you that I enjoyed reading The Secret if for no reason other than that it introduced me to the concept of the Law of Attraction. Everything is explained in a way that is fairly clear, with some examples of the Law of Attraction at work in different areas of life.

The Secret may not be a good book for people who aren’t into more spiritual or magical matters, but I personally think it’s a great resource for altering your thoughts to something more productive and more aligned with what you want out of life. I tend to take the good and leave the bad, but that’s just my take on it.

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck by Mark Manson

If the title appeals to you, the rest of the book probably will, too. The contents of The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck are deeper than the name implies and are suitable for anyone who does not gravitate toward traditional self-help books.

Some people like positivity and hand-holding, while others need a dose of the hard reality that is life. Mark Manson does an excellent job at presenting very pessimistic and gloomy ideas in a way that is still inspiring and motivating. What resonated with me the most was the thought that most things we do in life will involve some form of suffering, no matter what path we take. So finding meaning or doing the things we truly value boils down to picking the suffering we would rather deal with in the end.

Would I rather face the pain of loneliness from traveling on the road, but still get to explore the world? Or do I choose the pain of boredom from staying in one place, even though I’m surrounded by loved ones? Read to dive deeper into thought-provoking topics that, while a bit more edgy, may have the ability to cheer you up and help you navigate the darkest and deepest voids.

Witch by Lisa Lister

I received this book as a gift and enjoyed it very much, not even because it’s witch-oriented but because I think Lisa Lister puts a lot of feminine issues into the right perspective for women and men alike.

What I mean is that feminist issues are often framed by some in an anti-men tone (smash the patriarchy in favor of a matriarchy, men are pigs, etc.) and while Lisa addresses the things that have definitely gone wrong with our society over the years to cause the issues we experience today, she also stresses the importance of having men as allies in the efforts toward gender equality and female empowerment. She explains how men also suffer from the current patriarchy and how they can benefit from a world where raw feminine energy is expressed instead of repressed.

That aside, I feel the book is inclusive to all genders and orientations and is empowering for those looking to start their journey in witchcraft and other magical endeavors.

There you have it. Books for days. I may go into further detail on any one of these books in the future, but the list is here for you to see and me to remember. Thanks for reading, and as always, please comment below if you feel I’ve left one out. I’m always open to additional reading recommendations!

--

--

Wild Free Kelly Green

Green Witch, Nature Nomad | One of the so-called “quiet ones” you have to watch out for. Finding fulfillment amid quarter-life crises is my new favorite pastime