Open-Source Software I Use, and Why

Wild Free Kelly Green
5 min readMay 13, 2024

--

The following is a list of open-source software that I am currently exploring or have been using successfully for some time. All of the software listed is free to download and use. I primarily recommend software if it includes helpful features and competes with other top paid alternatives in the market.

Note: As of now there are no paid affiliations with any of the software listed here. I simply endorse them and have enjoyed them for personal/business use.

Photo by Domenico Loia on Unsplash

For me personally, using this software has completely relieved me of the need to purchase said alternatives, and many of them work better anyway (in my opinion). Read on and as always, if I have left one out that you have personally benefited from using, please name it in the comments and I’ll investigate!

Audacity

I’ve been using Audacity for basic audio editing. I once used the software to change the key of an instrumental track for a singing performance in high school. It was easy to understand then and is still easy to grasp now, though many features have been added to Audacity since. I’m in the process of learning more about sound mastering and editing and will be exploring Audacity further to apply what I learn.

The intro instrumental track for a video I made with my partner was edited using only Audacity software and a lower quality acoustic guitar sound clip. Considering what we had to work with and that everything we had access to was free to use, I think the end result met our expectations.

digiKam

I use digiKam to organize my photo files. This software can do batch processing, and I’ve used it to rename photos based on the date taken so that all of my photos had consistent names and could be organized neatly in a structured timeline. It has facial recognition and can tag photos based on the people recognized in the photos, but I feel much more comfortable knowing that the software operates offline.

I recommend using digiKam to deal with larger collections of photos where individually selecting and working with each photo becomes daunting. This software has saved me hours of menial digital labor.

Tip: I get super paranoid about losing files in transit, so I recommend keeping a copy of photos backed up in a safe location when using digiKam. I haven’t had any issues with losing files with digiKam, but I always recommend having a back-up regardless.

Freeter

I’m in the process of testing out Freeter now but after a couple days of experimentation, I am already at the point where I can comfortably recommend the software for others to use. Freeter is an organizer app that utilizes widgets to create customizable workspaces. It is excellent for more complex projects across multiple accounts. The modular layout is simple and easy for me to understand, and I like that I can go crazy with the functionality of the app without needing a coding background.

I’m currently using Freeter to manage my to-do lists and links for my personal business (Wild Free Kelly Green), my partner’s YouTube channel (Hanging Out with Sam Francis), our shared creative endeavors (TBA ;) ), and our pet-sitting business. It is incredibly overwhelming to have a massive to-do list for all of these projects, so to be able to quickly switch between them and keep things organized is a relief for my tired brain. I’ve also dabbled with the file opener, link opener, and webpage widget and have been happy with the results, but I’ll check back in to give a more detailed breakdown in the future!

Kdenlive

I am currently using Kdenlive for video editing for projects I post to YouTube. So far, the software has a lot of advanced functionality but is intuitive enough for me to grasp as a beginner to video editing. I like that it has the ability to work in a green screen and can include animated effects and transitions. I have been pleased with Kdenlive so far and will be committing to it for my video editing needs for the foreseeable future.

Inkscape

Inkscape is currently my ultimate graphic design software. I refuse to pay some exorbitant amount for a paid software like Adobe Photoshop or whatever else is trending in the market. Inkscape has so much functionality and is free!

I used a blend of Inkscape and Canva to create my first digital product in 2023. I still use Inkscape regularly to remove the background from images and create assets for my video projects. I’m a beginner to graphic design but the tutorials available for Inkscape on YouTube have made that transition less daunting for me.

LibreOffice Suite

I previously used the Google suite often for work and school projects (and still do for some work), but I found I wanted to have local, offline functionality without worrying about the privacy of my data being stored in an online cloud. Also, the repeated notifications from Microsoft software telling me that my license expired and I need to pay for a membership for something was getting kind of annoying.

LibreOffice essentially solved all of that for me. It has a word processor, a spreadsheet software, and other applications similar to that of the Google or Microsoft Office suite, but without the bloating features and nagging notifications. The word processor alone has so many features that I feel it would be competitive with Google Docs or Microsoft Word, but I have been satisfied enough with the basic functionality that I haven’t even begun to dig deeper into it, and I’ve been using this software for a couple years now. I highly recommend LibreOffice for anyone wanting to try out a new open-source word processor.

MuseScore

I have yet to fully dive into this one, but I’m excited to try out MuseScore for writing music. The software allows you to write in complex rhythms and multiple instrument parts with the ability to play back the written piece of music electronically. I was shocked this was available for free and will be making this software a prominent tool in my musical exploration.

Trilium

In the process of organizing the chaos that is my collection of notes and files, I stumbled upon Trilium. This software is so much more than a note-taking application. You can embed code into your notes to create widgets and can link notes together to create complex webs of information. I feel like I can finally bring some order to the labyrinth of my mind.

I recommend this software for anyone who wants more functionality than the basic note-taking app with an interest in building their own system for organizing notes. There is a bit of a learning curve to Trilium but I’ve found the end result to be totally worth whatever time I spent getting acquainted with the ins and outs of the software.

What open-source software do you currently use? Are there any you would recommend that aren’t included in this list? Please feel free to share your thoughts in the comments. Thanks for reading and have a blessed day!

--

--

Wild Free Kelly Green

Green Witch, Nature Nomad | One of the so-called “quiet ones” you have to watch out for. Finding fulfillment amid quarter-life crises is my new favorite pastime