Airport Series №2

Ken Ozuna
2 min readJan 30, 2020
All Images Taken by Me

I love traveling, but airports have always been places of many goodbyes. No matter what, even if you’re going to vacation, you’re saying goodbye to something. When I wander the airports, I see so many people traveling alone, keeping to themselves, and hugging their belongings. No one really talks to anyone except to people on the phone. Sometimes, it’s business contacts and other times, it’s lovers or friends that are getting left behind. Going back and forth to Miami from Chicago is hard.

Every time I fly, there’s a somber tone to it, especially this trip. I arrived at O’Hare in the sunset, and departed MIA in the sunrise, so I saw many opportunities to capture what the environment and circumstance was making me feel. I’m partial to evening flights, but when you arrive late, everything is closed. There’s no longer an air of entertainment or luxury. The staff is packing up and going home. There are fewer overhead announcements to break the silence. Everyone speaks more quietly. Some of the TVs are off in empty terminals. It’s the same in the morning, if you arrive early enough.

In this personal series of photos, I try to capture that isolation through the use of shadows, and the use of an old Dietz Minolta MD Telephoto lens.

This time, I wanted to utilize a lot of silhouette and used lighting to emphasize shape and form rather than letting us see anything that…

--

--

Ken Ozuna

Photographer, Cinematographer, Writer, and Lover of all Visual Arts. Like my work? Book me here: https://www.kenozuna-photography.com/