How VSCO Makes My Photography Projects Easier

Ken Ozuna
5 min readJun 6, 2020

I​n the litany of mobile editing suites, I was a pretty slow adopter of VSCO. I liked the idea of grading my images to resemble film stock with presets, and the ease of use was nice, but it didn’t suit my needs. At the time, I would edit and color grade my work and tailor it to a specific look I had in mind. My mobile devices were an extension of that, with apps like Astropad, but rarely edited on them. As my work load grew, however, I had to be think about achieving my results in a more efficient manner, and that’s when I began to take a closer look at this nifty app.

I didn’t know it then, VSCO would become one of my favorite tools on the field.

V​SCO is an editing and social media image sharing app that specializes in having simulations of film stocks that you can apply and fine tune over a base image or video. The social media aspects of the app were less important; the film stocks were the biggest draw for me. I’m a big proponent of film, so the first thing I did was scour the internet for comparisons, and when I saw the results, I knew I had to try it for myself.

Here’s how I use VSCO and how it worked its way into my workflow.

The Brilliance of VSCO Film Simulations

--

--

Ken Ozuna

Photographer, Cinematographer, Writer, and Lover of all Visual Arts. Like my work? Book me here: https://www.kenozuna-photography.com/