A must watch for every parent and teenager in this time of bullying at school and on social media

My husband and I just watched “13 Reasons Why” on NETFLIX. I had to commit up front to watch the whole series or not watch it at all. Knowing this was a NETFLIX series based on teen suicide I knew it would be hard to watch having dealt with depression throughout my life.

Growing up as a closeted gay child of the 60’s and 70’s I was extremely introverted. I was always frightened to speak in class for fear of being found out I was gay because I might sound gay. I had heard myself on cassette tapes and in my own mind felt I had an effeminate sound to my voice. It was rare I ever raised my hand in a class. I only spoke when I felt it was demanded when I was called upon by a teacher.

I had kids from elementary school though high school that would call me sissy, fag, nerd and worse. I never told my parents or anyone for fear of being outed and having to deal with the consequences of being a gay child in the 60’s. Conversion Therapy being the main method of treatment as at that time homosexuality was considered a choice, not a natural way you were born. I guess I found my safe place in church, but they preached if you were a homosexual you were condemned to HELL so I dealt with it as best I could.

Now in this age of Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat and so many many other forms of social media there are endless ways a teen or adult can be bullied.

Whether you think your child is being bullied, possibly a bully or just standing on the sidelines afraid to speak up it is important that everyone see this series.

Below I’ll share a synopsis of “13 Reasons Why” and the trailer release from the end of March. If you have been bullied or suspect your child might be the victim of bullying this is a series you absolutely need to watch. There are several reasons it might be best to watch it by yourself first. There are scenes depicting rape and violence that are fairly graphic. Definitely a reason to watch before you have anyone younger than 15 watching with you.

“13 Reasons Why” was written by Jay Asher and was a #1 New York Times best seller in 2011. Here is the premise: Hannah Baker, a high school student, dies by suicide. Two weeks later, Clay Jensen, one of her closer friends, finds a package on his doorstep containing 7 audio cassettes made by Hannah explaining the 13 reasons why she killed herself, and Clay is one of them. In order to find out how he fits in, Clay must listen to the tapes. But doing so may reveal a disturbing secret about Hannah, as well as some of his classmates, that Clay isn’t ready for. Meanwhile, his classmates featured on these tapes set out to keep their secrets hidden by any means necessary.

Below is the Trailer for “13 Reasons Why” on NETFLIX

Always remember that a smile or a hello might be the difference in the outcome of a persons day or make be the thing that might makes a difference and gives someone the courage to reach out and ask for help. Make a difference.

NATIONAL SUICIDE PREVENTION HOTLINE tel:1–800–273–8255

--

--