Kevin Silva
2 min readSep 9, 2021

Piggy Experiment and Testing — Physical Computing (Week 2)

I first opened the Arduino starter kit box and connected it to my PC. Downloaded the software and looked at all my components.

Open Kit

A little furry friend wanted to join in on the action so I let my cat Mango into the room. He’s actually a very good helper!

Mango

To start my Piggy experiment I had to connect my Arduino and breadboard. Then, create a circuit that has an led switch, that would indicate positive and negative flow.

Arduino Kit Assembled

After this step, I used the pig as the main conductor. Using aluminon foil all over its body and taping the wire on tape and sticking it to the body. After that, I proceeded to use a coin as the trigger. The wire is then tapped to the coin. I call this experiment the electric piggy bank.

https://youtu.be/WztgOWjL3Lw

Electric Piggy Bank

Now that the piggy bank was a success! It's time to play around with our Arduino. I used it on a bunch of home items!

ITEMS

  1. PS4 Controller
  2. Bottle Opener
  3. Speaker
  4. Glasses
  5. Metal Chopsticks

To be honest. My favorite one was the Metal chopsticks because I was able to test them out in all types of ways. Taped together, Separated, and on one metal chopstick. I use these metal chopsticks very often so seeing how they can be used to attract electricity is very interesting and eye-opening! Makes me appreciate my chopsticks. Plus they look cool.

chopsticks
More Chopsticks
Kevin Silva

My name is Kevin and I’m a cat dad, who also likes to blog about my bizarre Arduino experiments. Can you believe that?