Diego Gomes: The Next Star

Chris p
4 min readApr 30, 2020

--

Diego Gomes is a singer, producer and songwriter from Toronto, Canada and a rising figure in Pop/Latin music. He is peddling a sound that is seemingly trending, but uniquely his. You’ll be able to pick out a Diego Gomes beat by its signature high-tempo drum pattern, hypnotically layered over a tropical sample and usually dripping with a satisfying amount of reverb. Oh, and his iconic producer tag of course (DG on the beat).

Artistically to visionary Diego Gomes, a child star growing up recognized for iconic soundtrack “Best Friends Girl” that won YTV series “The Next Star”. Diego similarly reimagines the trap and Latin landscape with tasteful injections of sonic nostalgia; creating a vibrant world where the contemporary listener can indulge in escapism.

Instagram: @Diegogomesmusic – shot: @Newwavevisialsto

Diego Gomes most recent record “Nasty” is an excellent example of Diego’s iconic sound. Nasty is a masterful combination of percussive adlibs, energetic but minimal lyricism, and Diego’s signature nostalgic production. The finished product redefines reggaeton with a sound that is undeniably mainstream , but bends the genre with infusions of pop and an ad-lib symphony.

“I’ve been more focused on financial success right now.”

1 on 1: Diego Gomes

We’ve asked Diego what he has been up to lately and what he had to say was very impressive!

“For the last year, I’ve been putting most of my time and energy into my videography business called “New Wave Visuals”. Instagram: @newwavevisualsto which has been doing really well and has been growing quickly. We made a name for ourselves in Toronto and all around the GTA because we’ve done videos for some big artists such as Chromazz, El Cata (Shakiras Producer) & many more. We recently got flown own to Cuba to work on some music videos for Toronto’s own CK “Ckavidy”. While we were in Cuba, we also filmed Lil Kages new video featuring Cuba’s own “El Tikko” who is a famous Cuban artist that has over 1 million views on his song with “El Kamel” & “El Chulo” the biggest Cuban artists in the world right now. We were supposed to get flown out to some other countries as well for more videos but this COVID 19 virus has postponed that until everyone’s able to travel again.”

When Diego’s name is mentioned in the city of Toronto, it definitely rings bells to people under the age of 27. A lot of good things and bad things to be said which is very normal for an artist like him. Speaking of negativity and other Journalists/Publicists from VICE MAGAZINE. I seen an article posted that Vice wrote about Diego and some other contestants from “The Next Star”. Diego claims they’ve stated false information about him. Maybe we can say to make him look like a “Junkie” so they can get an interesting story. I will quote what Diego had to say about that.

“Yeah I’m not loosing sleep over it but I refuse to let them try to slander my name without me speaking up about it. The guy who interviewed me and the Vice editors were the ones responsible for that article. I don’t think it was personal because I don’t know these people but they basically tried to ruin my career so they could get an interesting story.”

“The header was “The Canadian reality show launched successful music careers, but left some to struggle with alcohol, drugs and self-image.” Then they put a picture of me with that header. So everyone who sees this article is going to think that I’m some drug-addict when really, I’m not. Their talking about another contestant from the show but that’s still very misleading. My whole piece in the article was just negative and they twisted things to try and make me look bad. For example, they said that I was dropped from my label. That’s false. They also said I’m filming mostly my own music videos now which is also false. I’m here to tell everyone on Medium that I’m doing great. I’m not a drug addict, my business is doing well, I have bookings to shoot videos all over the world once this virus clears up and I’m achieving a lot of success without help from any TV show. So I just completely countered their article by saying my side of the story here on Medium. Everyone that saw that negative article on Vice is now going to see this article and their going to know what’s up.

“I’m an entrepreneur, artist, videographer, producer & more”

Individually, Diego is a gifted artist and Diego Gomes is a gifted producer (and artist in his own right). Together, they become greater than the sum of their parts, two masters in simplicity fusing create something truly unique. Any doubters of their chemistry need only take a moment to explore Apple Music and YouTube, where the sound has clearly been touched by the sound he developed independently and as a collaborative force. In his own way, what he does is no different from what Daddy Yankee and Justin Bieber did, down to the flashy dressing and crowd-pleasing antics on stage. They’ve just repurposed context for an audience that is increasingly online and increasingly abstract. Latin music has come full circle, and 2020 should be a beyond interesting year for it.

SONG SCORE & RATING

OFFICIAL RATING: 8/10

STANDOUT TRACK

  1. ★ Nasty

--

--