21 Days Abroad

Kimberly Schwamb
3 min readOct 6, 2016

--

I arrived at Leeds Trinity University in England on September 15th 2016, from Long Island, New York. It has been 21 days since then and I have loved every minute of my experience so far!

The first week the university had something called “Fresher’s Week”. I bought a wristband for it, that got me discounts on a lot of the events. They had bowling, movies, bar-crawls, and heaps of free food. Being that I am in my third year of University, I was nervous that I wouldn’t get along with people who were just experiencing college for the first time. I was completely wrong. Everyone here is so nice, I have not met one person that I do not like.

Some of the other International students and I, out for a night in Leeds

Being an international student is a really extraordinary experience. Everyone is so intrigued to hear about where you are from, and what life is like in that country. Leeds Trinity University held a tour around Leeds with all of the international students. This was a great opportunity for us all to meet each other. I now have friends from; France, Australia, Germany, and Spain! Ever since that initial meeting my main group of friends has been the international students. It’s amazing to have friends from all over the world.

Leeds City Centre
Some of the International Students and I

The second week I was here I went to York for a day trip with some of the other international students. Since I am from New York it was really amazing to see the city that New York’s name came from. We toured around a place called the museum gardens. Which was full of beautiful scenery and a lot of history. We also toured the York Minster Church. It was a Sunday when we went so there were a lot of festivals and markets. One festival in particular that me and my friends went to, was a food festival. From organic fresh produce, to greasy fatty burritos, this place just had a little but of everything for everyone. Travelling to York was a great experience and when I think of my time abroad, I will always think of York.

Me in a phone booth and York Minster Church behind me
The Museum Garden, York

That pretty much sums of my first 21 days here! Thanks for reading and stay tuned for an update on my next adventure.

#MFC4372

--

--