It’s the End of the Talk (and I Feel Fine)

How I staved off the post-presentation vulnerability hangover

Kim Witten, PhD
4 min readJun 9, 2024
Steep perspective toward the stage of red cloth chairs in an empty auditorium.
Photo by Paolo Chiabrando on Unsplash

Not a Medium member? You can read a paywall-free version of this story here.

Last week I recorded a podcast with a live audience. It was not the first time I’d done this, but something happened with this recording I never experienced before. Which is that when it was over, I felt fine. I went about my day as usual.

If this sounds unremarkable, I assure you it isn’t. I have an endlessly looping memory reel of public events that necessitate post-presentation self-care. Hours of intervention to stave off the rumination, the incessant replaying of moments in my head, the involuntary vocalizations as I recall the parts that make me cringe.

And that’s when it goes well.

When there’s a gap between inward and outward experience

To be honest, it’s always gone well. People have told me I’m a great speaker. But there’s an ocean between the outward presentation and how I feel inside.

That’s the thing with masks. As any clown will tell you, they’re dying inside.

What worked for me

--

--

Kim Witten, PhD

Helping overwhelmed creatives and small business owners make sense of things. Get unstuck every Thursday with Hold That Thought at www.witten.kim/subscribe