Shara Versus Rhajat (Part 1)

Jaime Bravo
5 min readFeb 29, 2016

The second of a couple Fire Emblem Fates pieces I’ve plans for. Because there are two main issues with Rhajat/Shara I’ve divided it into two pieces. This one gets into certain changes, the other will get into what is technically oneand two supports. To keep things consistent: when referring to the Japanese game I’ll use the Japanese names (e.g., Shara and Kamui) and the English names when discussing the English game (e.g., Rhajat and Corrin).

Technically, the biggest spoiler is a relationship I can’t spoil to those outside of Japan.

It doesn’t exist.

A full support, from C to S, was removed when it got localized by NoA/Treehouse. That support was Shara x Kamui (F), better known here as Rhajat x Corrin (F). When I say the support was removed I don’t mean that the characters can’t rank up with one another — they can, the game mechanics are untouched so that still works. What has changed is that the dialogue, the text, is gone. Not even replaced with four sets of ellipses like Saizou x Beruka’s C Support, I mean it has been removed. All of the text is completely and entirety gone. It’s the only lesbian support of the game, one of the two same-sex supports, and is the more unique case too: While the other is mostly the same until S, Shara had one script for Kamui (F) and another script for Kamui (M). In essence, they were entirely different: story, incentive, character development, even the length; Shara x Kamui (F)’s A and S support are twice as long as the male counterpart. This unique split was changed in the US and now both use the male script. You can see for yourself that Rhajat x Corrin (M) is just Rhajat x Corrin (F) with one “his” to “her” change. Same script, same assets.

But this will be the focus of Part 2, not the piece below. Instead I’d like to get into other character changes done to her that help better understand:

1. Changes that NoA/Treehouse did to her.
2. The way she talks and carries herself in each region.

Both of these are important before getting into the Japan-only support, a translation of the male support, and the US support, as it helps understand why the two should not be thought of as the same.

Supports are hit or miss in the localization. From ill fitting voices to Kana having a lifetime of therapy 40% of the time, Shara’s another example of someone who lost a lot about herself when she became Rhajat. Take her confession:

USA: “I’ve got you right where I want you. And I’m never going to let you go…”
JPN: ”…I love you. My feelings for you are stronger than any sort of curse… If you betray these feelings, I won’t forgive you… and it’s already too late for regrets.“

Difference not clear enough? Then let’s try this one:

USA: “Have I told you lately that I love you? Good.”
JPN: “I love you… No matter how many times I say it, it’s not enough… I love you. I really love you. …say, what about you, dear?”

Or when she expresses the opposite meaning in the localized version:

USA: “If you die before me, I’ll revive you myself. Just so I can kill you again!”
JPN: “Don’t die and leave me behind… If that happened…I’d follow you into hell…”

Last I checked, someone saying they’ll follow you into hell is a sign of grief, not reviving you to murder you. If “hell” were a concern it could be replaced with “wherever” but I doubt it’s an issue seeing how she literally says she’ll murder him.

These differences exist in many of her supports. All the sweeter and more romantic aspects to her character are completely gone. While she had her stalker traits it was amplified to the point where she now has no other traits; they turned a multi-faceted character into a one dimensional stalker. The translations were gotten from this thread in the FE subreddit (archive here) and verified with a native speaker. While the thread lists more, I’ve one not in it that you can see for yourself with the translation: Shara x Matoi versus Rhajat x Caeldori.

USA: Caeldori wants to be more “mysterious” like Rhajat is. In the B Support they undergo lessons, Rhajat gets tired and leaves. The A support starts with Rhajat saying she’s ending the lessons and consoling Caeldori, complimenting her, and the two happily parting ways.

None of that actually happens.

JPN: There’s no “mysterious aura:” Matoi is jealous of Shara’s more developed body. The B Support has Shara bring a charm which makes the wearer lose their feeling of shame, something Matoi gets terrified of and runs away as Shara follows, laughing. The A Support has Shara successfully put it on her as they go through a playful back and forth of charm on, charm off, until Matoi eventually tells her to stop. Shara does, says she’d feel bad if she did more and leaves. No compliments occur as Matoi vows vengeance over the humiliation she just suffered. This is important, as she gets it in Fire Emblem: Awakening when the roles are reversed.

Despite at first seeming like a throwaway conversation it’s one of the more significant ones as it gets into both their personalities and makes a major callback to the previous game. There’s no fundamental problem here either: NoA/Treehouse added lines to Rhajat where she’d use hexes to manipulate emotions. Multiple examples can be seen with Corrin alone, such as her putting a spell on him (she doesn’t in Japan) or when this:

JPN: “”Will you let me kiss you? As… proof of my love.” (Pause) “Hee… hehee. This is bliss/happiness…“

Turned into this:

USA: “Give me a kiss… Prove your love for me!” (Pause) “And the spell is complete.”

The only other point of objection that could be thought of us that it discusses her body but this is Tharja. Her body is part of her characterization (and some high quality figures too). It’s even a censored scene from Awakening that even the characters remarked on. When I say she’s Tharja I don’t say it lightly and neither did NoA/Treehouse — Rhajat is an anagram after all. You just won’t get the full story in what got localized as the other big callback is in the A Support for Shara x Kamui (F), part of the lesbian support Nintendo completely cut out.

(When Part 2 is posted I’ll edit this to include the link and remove this sentence.)

--

--