KinG GniK
2 min readMay 2, 2023

God and the devil were once again locked in a battle of chess, with the devil taking a sip of his whiskey as he surveyed the board. God sipped on his tea and studied the game carefully, moving his pieces with precision.

As they played, they began to discuss the topic of marriage and infidelity.

"You know, God, I've always found it interesting how humans seem to put so much emphasis on the concept of marriage," said the devil, twirling his glass between his fingers. "It's just a social construct, really. Why does it matter so much?"

God furrowed his brow. "Marriage is a sacred bond between two individuals who have chosen to commit themselves to each other for life. It's a reflection of the love and respect they have for each other and the promises they have made."

The devil chuckled. "That's all well and good, but humans seem to have a hard time sticking to those promises, don't they? Infidelity is becoming more common every day."

God nodded. "It's true that humans are imperfect and sometimes make mistakes. But infidelity is a betrayal of trust and can lead to deep emotional pain for everyone involved."

The devil raised an eyebrow. "You sound almost sympathetic to those who have been cheated on, God. Have you ever been cheated on?"

God shook his head. "I have never been in a relationship, devil. That's not how I work. But I do understand the pain that infidelity can cause, and I believe that humans should strive to be honest and faithful in their relationships."

The game continued in silence for a few moments until the devil made his move. "You know, God, I'm not entirely convinced that marriage is worth all the trouble. Why not just let humans do as they please? Give them free reign, and let them suffer the consequences of their actions."

God moved his bishop. "I have given humans free will, devil. It's up to them to make their own choices and face the consequences. But I believe that marriage is a beautiful thing that can bring happiness and fulfillment to individuals and strengthen families and communities."

The devil grunted and took another swig of whiskey. "I guess we'll just have to agree to disagree, God," he said, moving his queen.

But the game was far from over, and the discussion continued on for hours as the two players battled it out on the chessboard, debating the merits and drawbacks of marriage and infidelity. In the end, neither side seemed to have won, but both god and devil had gained a deeper understanding of the complexities of human relationships.

KinG GniK

Creative writing is my escape from reality; a place where I can immerse myself in my stories and express myself through the power of imagination.