The Franklin Method: Smoked Pork Ribs, Step by Step

Continuing the journey into the land of smoke and meat

Kit Merker
6 min readFeb 28, 2023

There is something special about smoked barbeque ribs. The flavor, texture, and eating meat right off the bone is an exceptional experience.

As I explained in my Smoked Pork Shoulder article, I am following the steps provided by Aaron Franklin in his MasterClass on Texas BBQ. I have tried my best to replicate the famed pitmaster’s methods. I will share what I did step by step and where I diverged from his plan.

Franklin is probably the most famous BBQ master out there, and with good reason. His Austin, Texas, restaurant has sold out of brisket every day since he opened in 2009. His book contains nerdy details about achieving the perfect smoke and consistent outputs.

I’ve started smoking meat regularly, and I wanted to share my first experience smoking one of my favorite meals: Pork Spare Ribs.

Delicious Smoked Pork Spare Ribs

The Perfect Smoke

Achieving the desired flavor in your ribs takes understanding smoke. You don’t want it to taste burnt, ashy, or acidic. Instead, the goal is a clean, pure, smoky flavor. Complete combustion of the wood creates the right kind of smoke and, ultimately, the right taste for the meat.

--

--