Quanto: Part 1 - How much would it take to build an app?

Tawanda Kanyangarara
2 min readNov 16, 2017

--

How much does it cost to travel, a simple question that is difficult to answer accurately. How could it be answered? Who would find that answer

What if? A simple question that is at the beginning of all our adventures. The double edged blade that can either stop you or push you. I always think I would chose the latter, something to do with my delusions of grandeur.

If I was to say I was struck by a magical idea for an app or that I was influenced to instantly spring in to action after reading a post on medium. I wouldn't be completely telling the truth. Though those little moments do contribute to my efforts to create an application, this is real life and those motivations don’t last long. It had to be something I couldn't stop think about, I had to be obsessed with it.

Finding an obsession, especially one that you can develop into a service for others (with similar fixations) isn’t as easy at it seems. Obsessions are almost hidden to oneself, until confronted. They are like addictions, things bring great discomfort once access to them is blocked or removed. We all have these, some carry more social weight than others but fundamentally they are all the same. Well at least to me.

I am a person who gets bored and destructed. I loose concentration rather quickly, even when I set out to do a task. So finding something that I am obsessed with was quite a challenge. I have a strong belief that people can be super adaptive to acquiring new skills. So I changed my angle, I began to ask what have I done the longest.

Designing + Coding

I was exposed to code at the age of about 10, where I built my first webpage. I later joined a Lego coding school where they had lessons to encourage children to code through the use of Lego’s programmable series. These were far to expensive for me to acquire, which generally entailed me nagging my parents. Yet even for a seasoned nagger like me, their strength was to much for me. In high school I took a Computer studies class, the higher level since I was rather competent by that time with computers. So competent that I failed one term of school so badly I was removed from the laptop class and returned to paper and pen. This carried on into my final year where I passed my theory and I don’t even know how that happened

I was once told “Do things that keep you honest”, to me this meant that one must put ones self in situations that the action associated with honest would be the best choice, the most obvious choice.

So I decided that I was going to one of the ideas I had come across and run with it. As simple as a choice as it was to pick it. Actually running with it was a different story. Building a product is hard work, extremely hard work and I haven’t even scratched the surface.

--

--